Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2012, 07:03 AM   #1
Cryzbl
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 572
Posts: 1,757
AdBlock & Protection for TF2

Hello, since recently an exploit was discovered to execute arbitrary commands on clients (fixed in yesterday's update) I decided to see what could be done about this with purely cfg scripts to protect against this.

Features:
  • Protection against an invasive server anti-cheat (taking & uploading screenshots behind your back). Now useless because of the update.
  • AdBlocks against pinion motd adverts (Stops the 'You may close the MOTD in 5 seconds'!).
  • Prevents servers from playing sounds on your client.
  • There are some commands the server is allowed to execute, I don't see why the server needs access & blocked it.

Download:

Available here

Install instructions:

Click the 'ZIP' button in the description. Extract protect.cfg to your tf\cfg folder. Add 'exec protect.cfg' to your autoexec.
Cryzbl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:13 AM   #2
PartlyAwesome
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 21
Posts: 174
Thanks my friend. This should help
PartlyAwesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:17 AM   #3
rizl0r
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 113
Posts: 627
TY.
Putting this into my scripts now.
rizl0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:23 AM   #4
seba5609
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 20
Posts: 125
the link is not working for me
seba5609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 10:58 AM   #5
Trilby Hat
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 794
Posts: 3,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by seba5609 View Post
the link is not working for me
Try this link.
I uploaded it to Sendspace for you.
Trilby Hat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:00 AM   #6
cheifanator
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 201
"Danke my hard-hatted friend!"
cheifanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:06 AM   #7
Ferax
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 206
Posts: 1,232
for some reason this was the first thing that came to my mind

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrvWL...feature=relmfu
Ferax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:40 AM   #8
seba5609
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 20
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trilby Hat View Post
Try this link.
I uploaded it to Sendspace for you.
thank you
seba5609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:55 AM   #9
seba5609
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 20
Posts: 125
well now i have a small proplem i cannot edit the host file... well i can but i cannot save it
seba5609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:56 AM   #10
CarlZalph
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 683
Posts: 3,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by seba5609 View Post
well now i have a small proplem i cannot edit the host file... well i can but i cannot save it
Info

Under OS X open the program with root privs.
Under Windows open the program with administrative powers.
CarlZalph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:01 PM   #11
floorstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Reputation: 126
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by seba5609 View Post
well now i have a small proplem i cannot edit the host file... well i can but i cannot save it
right click on it "host file" select properties and make sure its not read only if it is uncheck it.
floorstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:08 PM   #12
cody-
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 21
When I try to save it it says I don't have permission but when I go to change the permissions it says I do
cody- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:09 PM   #13
seba5609
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 20
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlZalph View Post
Info

Under OS X open the program with root privs.
Under Windows open the program with administrative powers.
i am doing that exect thing but it wont let me save it

Quote:
Originally Posted by floorstar View Post
right click on it "host file" select properties and make sure its not read only if it is uncheck it.
it is not read only

it is just saying this

save failed

please check if this file is opened in another program
seba5609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:12 PM   #14
rainbow dash™
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 403
Posts: 3,098
Nice, thanks!
rainbow dash™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 12:16 PM   #15
Deadman0307
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 49
Posts: 238
I will test it later, hope this works.

Btw.
Deadman0307 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.