Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Borderlands

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 07:05 PM   #1
neelpos
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 454
Posts: 3,009
Ran out of video memory! Exiting.

I haven't seen much of this issue around but it's affecting me pretty harshly, basically around every half hour or so of play the game will randomly (and I do mean random, there appears to be absolutely no triggers, I can be walking around, I can be talking to someone, driving, shooting, ANYTHING, it will just happen after I've played for half an hour or so) crash with the message "Ran out of video memory! Exiting." as seen here: http://i.imgur.com/N7Gam.png

All I've seen so far about this is this post on the BL2 tech support forums http://forums.gearboxsoftware.com/sh...d.php?t=148618 and it's not exactly helpful.
Anyone know what might be causing this error?

Computer specs:
Windows 7 Professional x86
AMD Phenom II X4 970 black edition @ 3.5ghz quad core
nVidia GTX 480 1.5GB (direct, not XFX or BFG or anything)
4GB Crucial Ballistix RAM @ 1800mhz
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 motherboard

Last edited by neelpos: 09-19-2012 at 02:52 PM.
neelpos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:08 PM   #2
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5268
Posts: 22,517
What are your system specs? It's possible that your specific card or driver is doing something funky, you don't SEEM to be running really short. There might be some weird memory leak they didn't know about. I'd show them the error on their forums to help them figure it out.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:09 PM   #3
neelpos
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 454
Posts: 3,009
I forgot to put my specs up at first and was editing them in when you made the comment Zek, damn you!
*shakes fist*
neelpos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:11 PM   #4
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5268
Posts: 22,517
lol Yeah I can't see how that's an actual "run out of memory fer reals" problem. Strongly suggest pointing them that error, and maybe their people will get on it.

I'd drop extra programs in the background, though, just to see if cutting them out might change how long it takes before it occurs, or if it does at all. Maybe there's some kind of conflict.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:33 PM   #5
Baxter289
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 3
Posts: 129
its walmart
Baxter289 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 08:07 PM   #6
99Reaper99
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 123
Posts: 1,040
I have nearly the same rig as you (see my profile) and I've never had the issue, so not sure what could be up. Game only seems to use 3.8GB of RAM mostly and 620MB of VRAM usually.

Likely a bug :|
99Reaper99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:06 PM   #7
sotherbee
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 6
Posts: 4
I am having the same issue here. It seems to happen to me when I first click "continue" from the game's main menu, although it did happen once to me in the middle of playing. The settings I use don't seem to matter either. I have changed through various resolutions and levels of detail in all settings and I still get this error. Yesterday I played this game for a solid 2 hours and got this error randomly and crashed out, and since then I cannot even get the game to completely load up again at all.

Windows XP SP3
2gb ram
AMD x2 7750 2.7ghz
EVGA 9800 GT 512mb
sotherbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 01:24 PM   #8
tunkeymicket
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Same problem

I am experiencing the same problem and have tickets out with 2K Games and NVidia. It also appears that other Unreal Engine games suffer similar problems, and it may be related to 32bit operating systems.

I'm on XP SP3, Intel Q6600, 4G ram (3/1 split), GeForce 8800 GTX, 306.23 (or 296.10) drivers. Even after disabling the movies and dropping everything to the bare minimum it fails. Some hints at using the 4G Patch application to allow additional VM did not help.

Oy.
tunkeymicket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 03:28 PM   #9
NotBartSimpson
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 29
Posts: 105
Have you tried increasing the size of your swap file? Might help with the 32 bit OS. Although the error refers to video memory, but you never know.

Perhaps there are some cache files that can be deleted...idk...
NotBartSimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:35 PM   #10
neelpos
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 454
Posts: 3,009
I dropped my PhysX settings from High to Medium, the problem went away, however having this issue repaired is still very much in my interest because apart from the crashing every half hour the game runs like butter with the setting on high.
neelpos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 10:24 AM   #11
tunkeymicket
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotBartSimpson View Post
Have you tried increasing the size of your swap file? Might help with the 32 bit OS. Although the error refers to video memory, but you never know.

Perhaps there are some cache files that can be deleted...idk...
4G swap, ~3.4G free. Memory and swap don't even budge by the time the error occurs.
tunkeymicket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 10:27 AM   #12
Grunt7684
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 475
Posts: 2,513
Uh guys, you have to realize that this error is about video memory, which is on the video card itself and has nothing to do with system RAM, page file, etc.
Grunt7684 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 11:08 AM   #13
Zekiran
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Reputation: 5268
Posts: 22,517
Uh, it's not even likely a valid error. Their systems are more than able to play the game successfully - the error is very, very likely a bug in the game's program.
Zekiran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 11:28 AM   #14
99Reaper99
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 123
Posts: 1,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zekiran View Post
Uh, it's not even likely a valid error. Their systems are more than able to play the game successfully - the error is very, very likely a bug in the game's program.
As I said much earlier too >.< Affecting only Nvidia cards.
99Reaper99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:59 AM   #15
neelpos
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 454
Posts: 3,009
Aaaaand with the recent update this problem is back for me, on medium settings it'll happen around every 45 minutes to an hour and if I play with another person it's half an hour
I'd really rather not jump down to low PhysX and have no cloth flow or smoke or pebbles or anything since it's all very wonderful eyecandy and a silly thing to sacrifice when this is so obviously a bug.
neelpos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Borderlands


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.