Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Darksiders II: Death Lives

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 01:11 PM   #1
kuyenmotdivad
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
Backup

Anyone know whats wrong, when I backup using the steam backup on the menu - Darksiders 2 gets to 3 GB then stops responding and closes steam... I tried it 5 times and its getting annoying.
kuyenmotdivad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:54 AM   #2
quickanddead
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 54
Posts: 840
i cant use any backup at all for any other game,since format is unknown to me and there is no steaminstall.exe in backup,i gave up when i started to backup witcher from my disks but steam was downloading it instead..
quickanddead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 11:45 PM   #3
A1R
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 5
Posts: 33
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by quickanddead View Post
i cant use any backup at all for any other game,since format is unknown to me and there is no steaminstall.exe in backup,i gave up when i started to backup witcher from my disks but steam was downloading it instead..
i know it, but that isnt really an issue

ONLY WHAT TO DO if you created a backup with such many unknown files (*.csm *.csd *.sis..)
without exe is =

-> copy paste ANY steambackup.exe from another backupfolder in the folder without exe

you can now install the game
A1R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 02:59 AM   #4
{Yotsuba}
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 1340
Posts: 5,922
There's a bug with the back up system which won't let most games (generally the larger ones) on the new content system (ie. they use the depotcache naming) be backed up.

I pointed this out to support almost a month ago, but all they told me to do was uninstall Steam and reinstall it. Naturally, as the bug is in the code itself, that didn't fix anything. As far as I know, they've ignored my request to report this as a bug to the people who need to know. If only Valve actually provided a proper way of sending bug reports direct to the teams *sigh*.

By the way, if you're willing to persist, you might eventually get it to backup a game after 10 or 20 crashes.
{Yotsuba} is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:38 AM   #5
rasitha_raw
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 271
Posts: 565
you can just copy the game files to your back up drive as an alternative.
(I never use backup - too glitchy)
rasitha_raw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Darksiders II: Death Lives


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.