Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dishonored

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 05:35 PM   #1
darkempire100
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 344
Dishonored Graphics (TWEAKS)

HEY ALL
Here we Share this high res Texture, Tweaks
Its a bit annoying, if you settings are Best but stil get Low res, now On this Topic we talk about Tweaking and graphics
how we make it better, Here is community and i wil try to Update this Page,.



Before you change things
* Backup your Files

*Go to C:\Users\name\Documents\mygames\Dishonored\Dishono redGame\Config

*And Open DishonoredEngine.ini

*Than Ctrl+F to search to line's

warning it wil hit performance
But if you have a good Pc it wont be a problem


:Info Dont combine, with all community Settings,
the results *Crash/Lagg/Glitch/

I made a licht with you can see with it is tested,

Tested Not working Tested need to be tested Tested Working great


---------------If you are done with Tweak Dont forget to make It *Read Only*-------------------------------
===========================Kakkoii============================
Alright, I've spent a lot of time really testing what different things do, and looking up pretty much every graphics related line possible. It's pretty different from my last config, but an improvement definitely. Removed a lot of stuff from my old that really wasn't doing anything.

http://www.mediafire.com/?49sijvkcf55u5hn

I got rid of all the baked shadow/lightmap popping, which really makes the immersion a lot better. I managed to increase the distance at which shadows for characters are rendered as well, it's pretty far now, but I'd still like to make it further, have to look into that more.

I left Hardware Shadow Filtering Off in exchange for the lower ShadowDepthBias. Results seem great to me.

Done some improvements to the texture streaming.

Changelog:
MaxProcBuildingLODColorTextureSize=2048
MaxProcBuildingLODLightingTextureSize=1024
IdealTextureDensity=20.0
MaxTextureDensity=80.0
UseMinimalNVIDIADriverShaderOptimization=False (Turn this off if you have an AMD/ATI card)
PoolSize=320 (doubled, gives more graphics RAM for texture streaming to use)
StopIncreasingLimit=20 (higher memory limit to reduce texture popin)
MinTimeToGuaranteeMinMipCount=0 (Set to 0 to improve streaming performance, get rid of lower mips quicker and bring on the highest)
MaxTimeToGuaranteeMinMipCount=0
LoadMapTimeLimit=4.0 (Reduced load time for the maps, the lower it is, the more bandwidth you need. So if you have a really powerful card you can experiment with lower this more)
FLightPrimitiveInteractionInitialBlockSize=1024 (Doubled these two, improves performance, each should be set to 1/4 your total system RAM. So if 8GB, they would be 2048. I have 12gb, but set moderately at 1024 in the INI for compat with the average system of 4GB.)
FModShadowPrimitiveInteractionInitialBlockSize=102 4
CompositeDynamicLights=False (Having this True makes for less accurate dynamic lighting.
bAllowRatsShadow=True
OneFrameThreadLag=False
DetailMode=4
ShadowFilterQualityBias=10 (Don't think it's really doing anything with Hardware filtering off though)
MaxAnisotropy=16
MaxShadowResolution=4096 (Since this game isn't DX10/11, we can't go any higher)
ShadowTexelsPerPixel=16 (This tells the system how many basically pixels of shadow to draw for every screen pixel. It seems high here, but it doesn't seem to affect performance much, since it adjusts dynamically. Raising it to this high number greatly increased the distance that shadows could be seen from, but it seems to be capped)
bEnableVSMShadows=True (better multiple shadow interaction)
bAllowBetterModulatedShadows=True (better shadow handling)
bEnableForegroundSelfShadowing=True (Doesn't seem to do much that I can tell, but no harm having it on haha)
ShadowFilterRadius=4 (again, don't seem to do anything with HardwareFiltering off.)
ShadowDepthBias=.004 (more detailed and small crevice shadows.)
(Disabled the Mips for these two completely, as MIP changes for these are pretty significant and visually different. Doesn't harm performance much)
TEXTUREGROUP_Lightmap=(MinLODSize=512,MaxLODSize=4 096,LODBias=0,NumStreamedMips=0)
TEXTUREGROUP_Shadowmap=(MinLODSize=512,MaxLODSize= 4096,LODBias=0,NumStreamedMips=0)



Tested V2
====================SnowHydra==================================

MinShadowResolution=16
MinPreShadowResolution=2
MaxShadowResolution=4096
MaxWholeSceneDominantShadowResolution=4096
ShadowFadeResolution=32
PreShadowFadeResolution=4
ShadowFadeExponent=.25
ShadowDepthBias=0

Need to be Tested
=====================Dead Girls Don't Say No===================
Bodies Dissappearing [Fix]
http://steamcommunity.com/app/205100...8299995594180/

Tested
==========================jim2point0=============================

Official FOV topic http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...=2964078<br />

Tested
==================Dead Girls Don't Say No==================
Bodies Dissappearing [Fix]

http://steamcommunity.com/app/205100...8299995594180/

Tested

========================jim2poi=============== His setting
http://whoisjimothy.com/public/dishonored_nspector.png (setting)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jim2poi...7631732109336/ Exemple
http://www.flickr.com/photos/jim2poi...7631732109336/ Exemple

need to be Tested

========================UniDen7ified====================
I have made my game as awesome as the Nvidia users show in their pictures. I'm on a XFX 5870 radeon.

I use Radeonpro and Sweet fx with Jims settings he posted a couple of pages back.

I found that my RadeonPro kept reseting to default, my solution is that you create a profile (opening disonored.exe in radeonpro) and add settings:

Visuals - Anti-aliasing - 4x or 8x depending on computer specs.
Anti-aliasing Mode - Multisample or Supersample
Anisotropic filtering - 16x

Advanced - All 5 options at the top is marked.
Textures filtering quality - High quality or quality
Mipmap Quality - High quality or quality
Texture LOD - -1 or -2 (-2 is heavier)


Tested


------------------------Usefull-------------------------
================For ati Users=======================

Usefull
Tool RadeonPro
Website http://www.radeonpro.info/Download/R...ro_Preview.exe You can Override Graphics settings
Its a preview its Updated
Tested


================For Nvidia Users===================
You have to use Nvidia Inspector, it's a free, portable, little program that allows you to set options that aren't exposed in the Nvidia control panel.
http://downloads.guru3d.com/NVIDIA-I...load-2612.html

And here are the right settings:
http://i.imgur.com/3d40Z.png

Tested

================================================== =================
if you have a good Tweak, Just add on Topic and i wil add on this

enjoy your Game psssst Please vote ;P

Last edited by darkempire100: 10-21-2012 at 10:55 AM. Reason: Update
darkempire100 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 06:01 PM   #2
jim2point0
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 229
Posts: 1,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkempire100 View Post
AllowD3D10=True (DX 10) <-----
This doesn't do anything

As for the rest, I was using most of them. I don't know what the LODBias settings do, but I was always under the impression that lower is better. Setting them to 4 would be bad?
jim2point0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 06:03 PM   #3
FlashIsisMayia
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 14
Posts: 96
not all these lines are identical for everyone, i'm missing some.
FlashIsisMayia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:04 PM   #4
BX1018
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 24
Posts: 73
The line for Ambient Occlusion looks like it has a developer note that it's not wanted.
BX1018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:24 PM   #5
BC2 Cypher
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 478
Posts: 3,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2point0 View Post
This doesn't do anything

As for the rest, I was using most of them. I don't know what the LODBias settings do, but I was always under the impression that lower is better. Setting them to 4 would be bad?
That's correct.

Negative LOD is better.
BC2 Cypher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:29 PM   #6
Dungeoncrawler
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 25
Posts: 305
I have my lod set at -0.850.

http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p...ps4d7cec9c.jpg
Dungeoncrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:36 PM   #7
Zeblade
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
for ME turning on "bUseMaxQualityMode=True" rats lose shadows... and OMG have to have that
Zeblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:00 PM   #8
gregp
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Yep, same for me -- I lose both rat *and* NPC shadows. And besides that -- I didn't see any graphical improvement whatsoever with any of those tweaks.
gregp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:02 PM   #9
Kakkoii
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 60
Posts: 118
Yeah, most of these tweaks will make things worse XD. Seems like OP just looked at strings that looked graphics related and thought "high number must mean more quality!"

bUseMaxQualityMode=True - This removes shadows on non-static objects, and glitches up the specular shading on water at certain angles. Leave it FALSE.

TextureForcedLODBias=4 - High number means lower detailed LOD's will be loaded at a closer distance than normal. Leave it 0. (Making it a negative number might even make the highest detailed LOD's last for longer distances, like -2)

bAllowHardwareShadowFiltering=True - Yup, good.

SkeletalLODDistanceFactorMultiplier=4 - Same as TextureForcedLod, put 0.

iType_AntiAlias=32
- This isn't an antialiasing multiplier. This is a switch for AA modes. It even says it beside the line in the dev comment. (EPpAa_None=0, EPpAa_Mlaa=1,). And if EPpAa_Fxaa= is 2, then that is ignored anyways and FXAA is used.

bAllowRatsShadow=True - Yup, good.

MaxAnisotropy=16
- Yup, good. I'd put it up to 32 if you have the power.

ShadowFilterQualityBias=4 - Bad, same as texturelod. Put 0.

MaxShadowResolution=4096
- Good.
MaxWholeSceneDominantShadowResolution=4096 - Good

AmbientOcclusion=True - Doesn't do anything, deferred rendering engine.

AllowD3D10=True - Not implemented, game doesn't even have D3D10 DLL's.

Last edited by Kakkoii: 10-09-2012 at 09:20 PM.
Kakkoii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 01:42 AM   #10
gustone
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 208
Posts: 924
nice to learn about lodbias i also thought that higher value means better graphics and used it that way many times, tx for the info
gustone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 02:09 AM   #11
mcfik
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 9
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kakkoii View Post
Yeah, most of these tweaks will make things worse XD. Seems like OP just looked at strings that looked graphics related and thought "high number must mean more quality!"

bUseMaxQualityMode=True - This removes shadows on non-static objects, and glitches up the specular shading on water at certain angles. Leave it FALSE.

TextureForcedLODBias=4 - High number means lower detailed LOD's will be loaded at a closer distance than normal. Leave it 0. (Making it a negative number might even make the highest detailed LOD's last for longer distances, like -2)

bAllowHardwareShadowFiltering=True - Yup, good.

SkeletalLODDistanceFactorMultiplier=4 - Same as TextureForcedLod, put 0.

iType_AntiAlias=32
- This isn't an antialiasing multiplier. This is a switch for AA modes. It even says it beside the line in the dev comment. (EPpAa_None=0, EPpAa_Mlaa=1,). And if EPpAa_Fxaa= is 2, then that is ignored anyways and FXAA is used.

bAllowRatsShadow=True - Yup, good.

MaxAnisotropy=16
- Yup, good. I'd put it up to 32 if you have the power.

ShadowFilterQualityBias=4 - Bad, same as texturelod. Put 0.

MaxShadowResolution=4096
- Good.
MaxWholeSceneDominantShadowResolution=4096 - Good

AmbientOcclusion=True - Doesn't do anything, deferred rendering engine.

AllowD3D10=True - Not implemented, game doesn't even have D3D10 DLL's.
None of these settings have any impact to the game. Could you provide screenshots with these settings and without? Because my screens looks exactly the same.
mcfik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 03:32 AM   #12
darkempire100
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 344
Weird.. if i just use, In game setting, it just dontt work for me.
But if i just tweak it just work. but i'm just playing with Tweaks
darkempire100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 03:36 AM   #13
darkempire100
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcfik View Post
None of these settings have any impact to the game. Could you provide screenshots with these settings and without? Because my screens looks exactly the same.
Yeah you're right.
AllowD3D10 it does nothing.
bit disappointing that dev havend implanted :/
darkempire100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 05:33 AM   #14
Kakkoii
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 60
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkempire100 View Post
Weird.. if i just use, In game setting, it just dontt work for me.
But if i just tweak it just work. but i'm just playing with Tweaks
The LOD bias in that file doesn't seem to affect it from what I've noticed. But MaxAnisotropy is definitely working and should be pumped up to 16 or 32 (it makes textures seen at angles more clear, at further distance and harder angles, the higher the number)
Because this game uses the newer Deferred rendering that game engines are moving to, it doesn't support any of the old anti-aliasing methods. So right now it just has some fairly crappy post process AA methods, which are FXAA and MSAA.

If you have a Nvidia GPU though, you can use Nvidia Inspector to force Super Sampling. Which basically renders parts of the game at a higher resolution and downscales it (bit more efficient than that though). And it will allow you to actually change the LOD bias, it really improves the texture quality and crispness, at far distances too.

http://i47.tinypic.com/30a6snq.png
Kakkoii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 05:34 AM   #15
roflquake
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 9
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kakkoii View Post
Because this game uses the newer Deferred rendering that game engines are moving to, it doesn't support any of the old anti-aliasing methods. So right now it just has some fairly crappy post process AA methods, which are FXAA and MSAA.
so wrong lol

also msaa is not post processing aa
roflquake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dishonored


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.