Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Serious Sam series > Serious Sam 3: BFE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 01:08 PM   #1
TheHunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 82
Arrow new patch is out (version 171822)

Just saw steam updating few moments ago, according to steam it was released at 7pm EU time.

Quote:
Update 171822

- Prepared everything for Steam Workshop support.
- Added Bulgarian locale.
- Fixed a crash occuring on server if a client equips sledgehammer, climbs onto a ladder and disconnects while still on the ladder.
- Fixed a crash on dedicated server occuring in coin-op if a game ends with all players disconnected.
- Fixed another way to get out of map on Medina.
- Mirror reflections are now disabled at low GPU quality.
- More optimizations on OpenGL (GLSL) shaders.
- Glowing in menu is now disabled on OSX and Linux platforms, and on 'lowest' GPU quality preset.
- Updated fbx import-export interface to make it accessible from the model editor.
- SeriousEditor: Fixed crash when trying to solve solution which doesn't have lightmaps' dimensions of power of 2.
- SeriousEditor's file open dialog is now better at handling files with weird path formats (mixed slashes and backslashes, dot-dots...)
- Updated browser list control to display green checkered background for files without a catalog index.
- Voice chat now also works via OpenAL, if enabled via svm_bOpenALVoiceRecording. It is enabled by default on Linux, but disabled by default on OSX, because OpenAL recording is broken in most OSX versions.
TheHunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
TheHunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 82
Btw is SS3 supported with Windows 8? I had some crashes the other day..
Spoiler:


-------- START OF LOG --------

18:34:12 LOG: Core version: $Version: distro_Sam3_PC; SeriousSam3-Windows-Final; 171000 2012-10-22 18:43:43 @builder05; Win32-Static-Final-Default$
18:34:12 LOG: Command: $
18:34:12 LOG: Initializing timer.
18:34:12 LOG: Timestamp: 2012/10/30 18:34:12
18:34:12 LOG: Binary name: Sam3.exe
18:34:12 LOG: Binary soft path: Bin/
18:34:12 LOG: Binary hard path: G:\Steam\steamapps\common\Serious Sam 3\Bin\
18:34:12 LOG: Application directory: G:\Steam\steamapps\common\Serious Sam 3\
18:34:12 LOG: * OS...
18:34:12 LOG: Name: Windows 8
18:34:12 LOG: Kernel: WinNT (64-bit)
18:34:12 LOG: Version: 6.2, build 9200
18:34:12 LOG:
18:34:12 LOG: * CPU...
18:34:12 LOG: Vendor: GenuineIntel
18:34:12 LOG: Type: 0, Family: 6, Model: 7, Stepping: 7
18:34:12 LOG: Clock: 3.56 GHz
18:34:12 LOG: Cores: 4
18:34:12 LOG: CMOV: Yes
18:34:12 LOG: SSE: Yes
18:34:12 LOG:
18:34:12 LOG: * Memory...
18:34:12 LOG: Total physical memory: 8190 MB
18:34:12 LOG: Free physical memory: 6327 MB
18:34:12 LOG:
18:34:12 LOG: Loaded "G:\Steam\steamapps\common\Serious Sam 3\Bin\ScriptLua.dll".
18:34:12 LOG: Loaded "G:\Steam\steamapps\common\Serious Sam 3\Bin\GameEnv_Steam.dll".
18:34:12 INF: GameEnv API: Steam
18:34:12 INF: Encoded user ID = 03b699cc:4d482338
18:34:12 LOG: Error getting mixer source line info for microphone. Will not be able to control microphone.
18:34:12 LOG: Created thread 3508(ResourceLoader).
18:34:12 LOG: Loading cvars from "$G:/Steam/userdata/37463868/41070/local/SeriousSam3.ini".
18:34:12 TRC: Cannot assign value to cvar dbg_strMarkedDataTypes. The variable is not declared.
18:34:12 LOG: Skipped assigning to prf_strShowFPSTicker because the saved version (0) is different than the current version (2).
18:34:12 LOG: Trying to set display mode 1600x1200(fullscreen)...
18:34:12 INF:
18:34:12 INF: * Desktop settings...
18:34:12 INF: Color depth: 32-bit
18:34:12 INF: Desktop resolution: 1280 x 1024
18:34:12 INF: Virtual screen: 1280 x 1024
18:34:12 INF: Monitors attached: 1
18:34:12 LOG: Loaded "G:\Steam\steamapps\common\Serious Sam 3\Bin\GfxD3D.dll".
18:34:12 LOG: Loaded "D3D9.dll".
18:34:12 LOG: Loaded "D3DCompiler_43.dll".
18:34:12 LOG: Loaded "D3DX9_43.dll".
18:34:13 INF:
18:34:13 INF: Gfx API: Direct3D
18:34:13 INF: Resolution: 1600 x 1200
18:34:13 INF: Vendor: nVidia (0x10DE)
18:34:13 INF: Driver: nvd3dum.dll (0x1086)
18:34:13 INF: Renderer: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570
18:34:13 INF: Version: 9.18.13.697
18:34:13 INF: Video memory size: 1280 MB
18:34:13 INF: Available for textures: 4027 MB
18:34:13 INF: Active GPU(s): 1
18:34:13 LOG: 2012/10/30 18:34:13: Crashed! (used process memory: 308 MB, free system memory: 6176 MB)
18:34:13 ERR: sysStartProcess("G:\Steam\steamapps\common\Serious Sam 3\Bin\BugReporter_Win32.exe") - 'Invalid argument'



http://www.mediafire.com/file/7kx6di...7_34_13C0.mdmp


EDIT:
ok nvm now its working, could be this patch that fixed it too


And speaking of Windows 8, it runs smoother and a little faster compared to windows7

Last edited by TheHunter: 10-31-2012 at 01:36 PM.
TheHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:19 PM   #3
jacmiszcz92
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 235
Spoiler:
Windows 8 always had issues with many games... For SS3 even as simply command like men_bUseMenuSimulation=0 worked/still work(?) different for W7 and W8. I don't think graphic drivers are fully ready for this OS. Win8 has better process management ("freezes" background processes)*, FPS can be higher in comprasion to Win7 if CPU is bottleneck.
*You can easy notice this if you host a server, invite friends and minimize the game.


Servers are gone again Can't wait for Steam Workshop, and Linux version of the game.

Last edited by jacmiszcz92: 10-31-2012 at 02:23 PM.
jacmiszcz92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 02:05 AM   #4
Solais
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 97
Posts: 491
Windows 8 is not officially supported yet. (And I hope it won't be for at least 10 years.)
Solais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 03:35 AM   #5
Bulletooth
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 1333
Posts: 5,687
not much to get me excited in this patchlist, but good to know the game is being supported nonetheless. keep em coming Croteam, enjoying the hell out of Jewel of the Nile!
Bulletooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:55 AM   #6
alenl
 
alenl's Avatar
 
Croteam
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 336
Posts: 1,072
Most of the things in the patch list are small, but actual big difference is support for workshop - enabled today!
alenl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:50 AM   #7
TheHunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacmiszcz92 View Post
Spoiler:
Windows 8 always had issues with many games... For SS3 even as simply command like men_bUseMenuSimulation=0 worked/still work(?) different for W7 and W8. I don't think graphic drivers are fully ready for this OS. Win8 has better process management ("freezes" background processes)*, FPS can be higher in comprasion to Win7 if CPU is bottleneck.
*You can easy notice this if you host a server, invite friends and minimize the game.


Servers are gone again Can't wait for Steam Workshop, and Linux version of the game.
Well i used the same commands as in win7 and it works fine (ren_bMultiThreadedRendering=1;
global.ren_iMaxThreads=3;
global.ren_fLODBias =0.5), maybe it was just a small side bug somewhere..

Everything is ok now.


Quote:
Windows 8 is not officially supported yet. (And I hope it won't be for at least 10 years.)
Hatters gonna hate, bad for you.
TheHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:06 PM   #8
Solais
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 97
Posts: 491
Hatters gonna hat. :P

But really, I'm not really hating Win8, more like I don't see the point when Win7 is still perfect for about 10 years. And I'm kinda afraid of the same stuff Notch and Valve is worried about.

Anyway, WORKSHOP IS LIVE, GO CHECK IT!
Solais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:23 PM   #9
alenl
 
alenl's Avatar
 
Croteam
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 336
Posts: 1,072
@TheHunter, It's not about hating. It is not even about Windows8 themselves. It is that they are just the tip of the iceberg, a sign of dark ages to come where MS is trying to turn your gaming PC into a locked down console. Are you sure you want to be a brick in that wall?
alenl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:15 PM   #10
TheHunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 82
^
Dunno not really.

Metro start menu ain't bad like all seem to think, try it for a few days then you will see what i mean.. I was a naysayer too - by looking at the videos, etc., but when i used it there is nothing wrong (i have dual boot), its still same old win7 under the hood once at desktop, actually its much better (faster)- new features. Metro is nice too (Gabe aka Valve overreacted for nothing) and it doesnt get in the way, not one bit.

Anyway dunno why this turned into a win8 discussion, i was just saying if there is a compatibility issue, but guess it was just a small bug in cfg detection from win7. Last time i played SS3 i was still in win7. Sorry for false alarm.

Good day and bye
TheHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 02:46 PM   #11
fuegerstef
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 158
Posts: 606
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHunter View Post
Metro start menu ain't bad like all seem to think, try it for a few days then you will see what i mean.. I was a naysayer too - by looking at the videos, etc., but when i used it there is nothing wrong (i have dual boot), its still same old win7 under the hood once at desktop, actually its much better (faster)- new features. Metro is nice too (Gabe aka Valve overreacted for nothing) and it doesnt get in the way, not one bit.
This has exactly WHAT to do with what alenl said about "turning the PC into a locked down console"??

Yep, nothing. But thanks for sharing the info.
fuegerstef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 03:29 PM   #12
poutsample
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 155
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHunter View Post
^
Dunno not really.

Metro start menu ain't bad like all seem to think, try it for a few days then you will see what i mean.. I was a naysayer too - by looking at the videos, etc., but when i used it there is nothing wrong (i have dual boot), its still same old win7 under the hood once at desktop, actually its much better (faster)- new features. Metro is nice too (Gabe aka Valve overreacted for nothing) and it doesnt get in the way, not one bit.
Overreacted for nothing?? You 're either misinformed, or naive, or both. It's not about the general aesthetics/ergonomics, it's about it becoming a closed console, following Apple's practice. Metro is their #1 strategic focus now, they 've disabled the Start button and classic menus without any good reason except for as a handicap to force users use the new UI, and they will surely abandon the old interface in a few years believe me. They can do it now much easier and unattended than they did over the years with MS-DOS or "XP-compatibility just not for everyone". It started already with UEFI secure boot, their App Store where only Metro UI applications that are explicit allowed by MS can be bought or downloaded. (Hint: No Steam there in the future.) Windows Live restrictions (Mail with no pop3/smtp integration for different accounts...). Games that are >PEGI 16 are banned (MS Hint: buy a Xbox for PEGI >16). Games for Windows only. And considering the rumours that xbox720 is running on Windows 8 RT, developers will be even more forced (developing costs) to follow Microsoft's closed console route which means maximum profit and dominance in the market for MS (Xbox720 and Windows8 games all in one) and problems to anyone else including us. So there's much more to it than bells and whistles my friend.

Last edited by poutsample: 11-02-2012 at 03:57 PM.
poutsample is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:21 PM   #13
TheHunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 82
@poutsample

just LOL.


So now that they "dumbed down" start menu for metro its a closed console standard? sure.. Metro apps are just some fullscreen mini apps, with no real advantage. They are handy only if you want to use some them as a quick mini program and they dont take any resources or unwanted cycles if you switch them to background, its not the main feature and never will be.

For example media player metro app is a lite or dumbed down version of WMP12, its just that now it can run as a separate app in fullscreen that's all, you can still use WMP12 like in win7 and nothing is gonna change in the near future.


And no im neither of those maybe you are. anyway IDC, and this win8 bs is way off topic.

Last edited by TheHunter: 11-02-2012 at 04:31 PM.
TheHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:36 PM   #14
poutsample
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 155
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHunter View Post
@poutsample

just LOL.


So now that they "dumbed down" start menu for metro its a closed console standard? sure.. Metro apps are just some fullscreen mini apps, with no real advantage. They are handy only if you want to use some them as a quick mini program and they dont take any resources or unwanted cycles if you switch them to background, its not the main feature and never will be.

For example media player metro app is a lite or dumbed down version of WMP12, its just that now it can run as a separate app in fullscreen that's all, you can still use WMP12 like in win7 and nothing is gonna change in the near future.


And no im neither of those maybe you are. anyway IDC, and this win8 bs is way off topic.
Typical response of a troll. Especially the intro. Nice try.
poutsample is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:43 PM   #15
TheHunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 6
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by poutsample View Post
Typical response of a troll. Especially the intro. Nice try.
Troll? Grow up with this internet bs word, its for kids.

Or are you some angry teenager kid who got upset that MS changed its GUI a little and shoved metro down your throat lol, please have some common sense and rage about more serious things.


Also Stop responding to my posts, i dont have anything else to say to you or anybody else regarding win8 since this is not the main topic here. Win8 issue got fixed by it self, like i said it was cfg conflict from win7, nothing else period.


And nice try right back at ya.

//over and out.

Last edited by TheHunter: 11-02-2012 at 05:05 PM.
TheHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Serious Sam series > Serious Sam 3: BFE


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.