Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Black Ops II

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 06:15 AM   #16
dimen363
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 2
Posts: 1
Imagine this happening on consoles...
dimen363 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:28 AM   #17
ilv
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 161
Posts: 638
HAHHAHA
It's pretty funny, but also very sad
ilv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:00 AM   #18
Washell
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 6642
Posts: 7,264
<russian accent> EA disks, activision disks, all pressed in Taiwan!
Washell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:06 AM   #19
HeadStrikeR
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 34
Posts: 1,569
This is friggin priceless...
HeadStrikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:20 AM   #20
Ferax
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 193
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washell View Post
<russian accent> EA disks, activision disks, all pressed in Taiwan!
armageddon
Ferax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:30 AM   #21
Cirap
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 4
Posts: 473
hilar. Boss of manufacturing plant in *Asian country* probably realized half way through prining a few million BLOPS2 copies (two discs per copy, for PC and 360 - then all the other games they print) that they don't have enough blank disc. Then he realized most people will be able to download the missing files through steam, went to storage and picked up a box of a million unsold Mass-Effect 2 discs

Improvised like a boss
Cirap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:32 AM   #22
Grindelvald
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 17
Posts: 29
A) You can download the remaining BOps 2 files from Steam.

B) You don't actually have ME2, you only have the install files. You can't register it with Steam and can't install or play it.
Grindelvald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:12 AM   #23
lordofterror
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 69
Posts: 1,198
lol as a compensation activision should give black ops 2 disc 1 to all mass effect 2 owners
lordofterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:37 AM   #24
donni90
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 16
Posts: 185
hahaha too good to be true
call ea and say you need disc 1 to install me2 and thank them for the better game you got
donni90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:11 AM   #25
richei
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Reputation: 413
Posts: 4,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundo View Post
If you've linked the game to your steam account, I'm pretty sure you should be able to download the missing files from disk 2 via steam. Means you gotta download it, but eh, better than not playing I guess.
You have to download the entire game because you have to cancel the installation,
richei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:29 AM   #26
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,927
Does anybody know how I would go about installing Disk 1 then having Steam download the rest of Disc 2? Is this even possible?
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:31 AM   #27
Omega_Scythe
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by NitrousX View Post
Does anybody know how I would go about installing Disk 1 then having Steam download the rest of Disc 2? Is this even possible?
It is, because I just did it. Just get to the "disk 2" message, cancel it, and then go to Steam and "resume" the download. Easy Peasy.
Omega_Scythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:34 AM   #28
NitrousX
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 746
Posts: 2,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omega_Scythe View Post
It is, because I just did it. Just get to the "disk 2" message, cancel it, and then go to Steam and "resume" the download. Easy Peasy.
Awesome, thanks!
NitrousX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:50 AM   #29
BMaytum
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
COD-BO2 2nd disk is ME2

People shouldn't complain, because Mass Effect 2 is a MUCH BETTER game than COD-BO2.
BMaytum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:24 AM   #30
machoman1337
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 7
Posts: 147
For those trying to blame Activision or EA:

I'm pretty sure both companies, along with countless others, contract the exact same third party to burn and label retail discs of their games on all systems. The third-party is most likely the one responsible for the mistake. Maybe they hired a new guy the day BO2 discs were to be printed, and he didn't know how to operate the computer properly?

This happens in a lot of other products, i.e. I once found a Samsung-labeled USB-to-AC adapter in the retail box for a brand new Sony Ericsson Android smartphone. Unlike with this ME2/BO2 fiasco, the device worked fine, but it did show that the third party f'ed up with organizing.

Last edited by machoman1337: 11-13-2012 at 11:27 AM.
machoman1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Black Ops II


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.