Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Hitman series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 06:46 AM   #1
Crazybone92
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 7
Posts: 119
Hitman: Absolution won't even start

After waiting an hour for the stupid unpacking process, Steam refuses to launch the game. The "preparing to launch" window appears but after that it does nothing. The game doesn't start but Steam claims I'm running the game while in reality the game doesn't start. The only thing I can do is to shut down the game from task manager. Verifying the game cache doesn't help. Really Steam, first an hour waiting for unpacking and the reward for that is a broken game? Steam is a piece of **** sometimes.
Crazybone92 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:23 PM   #2
Crazybone92
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 7
Posts: 119
The developers of this game have to release a patch to fix this. I'm not the only one with this problem. Many people are unable to launch the game and there is no known way to fix it. If the devs won't do anything to fix this, they ignore their customers completely.
Crazybone92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:34 PM   #3
alien3456
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 163
Posts: 594
I also have this problem. Tried every Steam/Windows/Drivers fix I can think of and the game doesn't launch whatsoever. It does create a crash dump file:

Quote:
Process Name: HMA.exe : W:\steam\steamapps\common\Hitman Absolution\HMA.exe
Process Architecture: x86
Exception Code: 0xC0000005
Exception Information: The thread tried to read from or write to a virtual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.
alien3456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:43 PM   #4
kmrking
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 431
Posts: 2,715
mine was doin this. sometimes it eventually launched... sometimes not. disabling exclusive window in the splash options has made it alot less often it seems. i launch 90% of the time now comapres to 30% yesterdat
kmrking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:56 PM   #5
alien3456
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 163
Posts: 594
The splash screen/options never even loads for me. Sniper challenge worked perfectly.
alien3456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:59 PM   #6
NoMoreLagg
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 130
I had an sort of equal problem, It loaded the game but once ingame i crashed BUT try this i might solve the issue:

Try to verify the cache files of the games.

If you dont know how:
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...2037-QEUH-3335
NoMoreLagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:04 PM   #7
alien3456
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 163
Posts: 594
Yep, did that 20 times. All files 100% verified, still won't launch.
alien3456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:25 PM   #8
NoMoreLagg
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 130
Run as admin, Restart steam or computer.

What if you firewall or virusscanner blocks the game
NoMoreLagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:25 PM   #9
alien3456
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Reputation: 163
Posts: 594
Tried all that. No dice.
alien3456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 06:44 PM   #10
Brunomanco
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Posts: 71
This is also happening to me. Its the first time this happens in a game bought in steam. Have restarted computer, closed and reopened steam, even uninstaled, and downloaded and instaled again, but it doesnt work. this is getting frustrating. Is there a chance of uninstaling the game and getting refunded ?? ?
Brunomanco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:11 PM   #11
kmrking
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 431
Posts: 2,715
so you arent even getting to the splash screen? try loading hitman, then waiting about 30 seconds. the splash screen eventually shows up for me. the wait sucks tho
kmrking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:13 PM   #12
iGaming | Chaos
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 351
Posts: 4,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazybone92 View Post
The developers of this game have to release a patch to fix this. I'm not the only one with this problem. Many people are unable to launch the game and there is no known way to fix it. If the devs won't do anything to fix this, they ignore their customers completely.
Might want to give them more than a day after release before writing them off. These things take time to diagnose and fix.
iGaming | Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:42 PM   #13
Brunomanco
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Posts: 71
This game is currently unavailable (application running)

This allways appear when i try to run it. why?

I have lots of games bought in steam and all went fine. cant understand why this happened with this one
Brunomanco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:23 AM   #14
MrJinx
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunomanco View Post
This game is currently unavailable (application running)

This allways appear when i try to run it. why?

I have lots of games bought in steam and all went fine. cant understand why this happened with this one
If you google this message there are a few fix's,
During the summer sale this was a common fault with 90% of the games.
main one being sniper elite V2. i found a fix for that untill it was patch at least
happeneds all the time, When you follow any of the fix Guides. if it says "delete x files" just make sure you take a backup of them first... ie rename the folder instead of deleting works as well.

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...4595-wexn-6831
.....
Atm i have the problem that game wont respond.
IE. i hit play and it just says "this program stopped working"
still looking for a fix.
most stuff dont work lol
MrJinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 04:27 AM   #15
Crazybone92
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 7
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by iGaming | Chaos View Post
Might want to give them more than a day after release before writing them off. These things take time to diagnose and fix.
Yes I know. I'm just frustrated because I have been waiting for this game a long time. I'm not telling the devs to hurry, in fact its better if they research the cause of the problem properly before doing anything. But I just hope they release a patch eventually.
Crazybone92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Hitman series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.