Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Assassin's Creed series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2012, 11:39 AM   #1
nahuel222
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
Nvidia drivers stopped working !

playing the game, while there's a scene the game crash and drivers stopped working...

spec
i5 760
2x2gb ocz reaper
msi gtx 570 tf 2 ( 306.97 drivers )

NOTHING overlocked, this is the only game that crashes
nahuel222 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 01:23 PM   #2
nahuel222
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
i updated the drivers to the beta ones, and still my game crash, like if they were artifacts... i run test tools, like furmark and atitool in search for artifacts and they found nothing... my card is working ok but with ac3 i still have problems !
nahuel222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:24 PM   #3
karamel?
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Hmm strange. I have a MSI TFII 570 overclocked to 920/2050 and it crashes. Mind you these settings play Witcher 2, Skyrim, BL2 and other intensive games fine.

It has crashed on both the 310.61 driver and one before it. Im going to try running stock now and see if it still crashes.

EDIT: Alright its not crashing on stock for me (310.61). Something is up..

Last edited by karamel?: 11-20-2012 at 09:53 PM.
karamel? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:44 PM   #4
pastor666
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Stock Nvidia 570 GTX on 306.97. Same issue.
pastor666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:19 AM   #5
Duckster
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
Did you do a completely fresh install of the new drivers? If you didn't, it could create some conflicts.

Pastor, update your drivers to the newest beta drivers.
Duckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 02:43 AM   #6
karamel?
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastor666 View Post
Stock Nvidia 570 GTX on 306.97. Same issue.
Ok if we get a few more people reporting crashes on stock 5 series, i think we can rule out that overclocking is doing it.

But this is strange, its the same problem i had in Sleeping Dogs.
karamel? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 04:36 AM   #7
Stillenacht
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 32
I have two EVGA GTI 580's in SLI. Not overclocked. I've tried newest and old drivers gone quite far back actually. Clean installs. NO joy.

Crashes are without frame dips and at random with no warning, during cut scenes or in normal game. Game settings or clean installs don't seem to change it.
Stillenacht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:03 AM   #8
virtualmatrix25
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 143
Posts: 175
I don't get why these big companies are ignoring the 500 series cards. I'm about ready to just buy a 680 and be done with the issues.
virtualmatrix25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:35 AM   #9
JasonPowersmile
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 7
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by virtualmatrix25 View Post
I'm about ready to just buy a 680 and be done with the issues.
Not to be conspiratorial, but you may have just answered your own question, there...
JasonPowersmile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:54 AM   #10
Duckster
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by karamel? View Post
Ok if we get a few more people reporting crashes on stock 5 series, i think we can rule out that overclocking is doing it.

But this is strange, its the same problem i had in Sleeping Dogs.
I don't think you can rule out overclocking with his problem considering he isn't using 310.54. Nvidia recommends at least using 310.54 for Assassin's Creed 3...

"This is the recommended driver for the best experience in Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 and Assassin's Creed III, providing up to 26% faster performance in Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 and up to 18% faster performance in Assassin’s Creed III, as well as smooth, shimmer-free graphics with TXAA antialiasing in both games."
Duckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 12:34 PM   #11
Stillenacht
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 32
I have used this driver, and older ones. It doesn't top crashes. I have no doubt a voltage change may, I'm, not doing that however sorry. Shouldn't have to risk any potential damage to my card run this.
Stillenacht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:35 AM   #12
pastor666
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckster View Post
I don't think you can rule out overclocking with his problem considering he isn't using 310.54. Nvidia recommends at least using 310.54 for Assassin's Creed 3...
I'm not overclocking, so I can rule that out in my case. As for using 310.54. I've tried it and it does not work. Game crashes at the exact same point as with previous versions of the driver.

In my opinion, running beta drivers to get a production game working should never be the solution.

Last edited by pastor666: 11-26-2012 at 04:46 AM.
pastor666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:49 AM   #13
pastor666
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 6
Changing GPU Voltage Works...However

I bumped my GPU voltage from 0.913V to 1.000V and the game ran fine...though my card's temps shot to 87C after five minutes of playing. In other words, not a solution.
pastor666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 05:26 PM   #14
jimdove
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 29
Posts: 37
the only way to keep the game stable when using a 5xx nvidia card seems to be by underclocking your gpu a tiny amount, i dropped core and mem speed by 50mhz using afterburner and the game no longer randomly crashes (driver stopped respnding) or just a total system freeze. Its not ideal but the best we can hope for till nvidia or ubi sort it out. Upping my voltage did nothing at all btw. My crashes did not produce artifacts btw.

im using an I7 920 @4ghz and a PNY 580 STOCK speed with the latest betas installed

Last edited by jimdove: 11-27-2012 at 05:28 PM.
jimdove is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Assassin's Creed series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.