Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Serious Sam series > Serious Sam 3: BFE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 03:29 AM   #1
jacmiszcz92
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 235
Code guard was activated due to application malfunction. Please report.

Hello,

I'm hosting public beta dedicated server. I have found in log: "Code guard was activated due to application malfunction. Please report." Dunno wut is goin' on, I'm not pirate. What does it mean? I saw this error many times so I finally decided to ask
Dunno what ya need so I put it all to pastebin.
Coop.cfg
Dedicated server log
Sam3.CodeGuard.rpt
Sam3.rpt
Sam3_DedicatedServer-default-27015.CodeGuard.rpt
sam3_174807_crash_2012_12_23T21_9_55C0.mdmp

I'm running Windows 7 x64. I'm using public beta update for both SS3 and dedicated server. Should I report this error in the future?

Almost forgotten. In the line: prj_strMultiplayerSessionName="BleBleBle"; Session name never works for me in SS3. My computer name is always visible here. It doesn't matter what server's name I'll write. Strange cuz it works flawlessly for SS2nd E. What's wrong?

****************
Some time later this day I closed dedicated server and hosted coop via game for me and my friend. We changed to survival. I died first and then server suddenly crashed with malfunction message. Sam3.log from this session

Last edited by jacmiszcz92: 12-24-2012 at 12:35 PM.
jacmiszcz92 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:01 PM   #2
ChrisW
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 942
Posts: 3,072
You are trying to run my server script, but not correctly. You need to use +gameoptions "coop.cfg" instead of +coop.cfg.

Should be something like:
"C:\Steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3\Bin\Sam3_DedicatedServer.exe" +gameoptions "coop.cfg"

Last edited by ChrisW: 12-23-2012 at 07:04 PM.
ChrisW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 04:03 AM   #3
jacmiszcz92
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 235
Can you tell me the path where should I put .cfg file? DedicatedServer_Readme.txt is exactly the same for SS3 and SS2nd E and constains path Content/SeriousSamHD/Config/dedicatedserver.cfg
SeriousSamHD in path for SS3 dedicated server config file?

#1 post updated by sam3_174807_crash_2012_12_23T21_9_55C0.mdmp if it's useful
jacmiszcz92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:23 AM   #4
ChrisW
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 942
Posts: 3,072
Place it in your \Steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3 folder. Create a shortcut to Sam3_DedicatedServer.exe, to go properties->target and add +gameoptions "coop.cfg" (or whatever you named the config file). Don't name it dedicatedserver.cfg as that name does not work.
ChrisW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:34 AM   #5
jacmiszcz92
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisW View Post
Place it in your \Steam\steamapps\common\serious sam 3 folder.
Thank you. Now it seems Coop.cfg file can be opened by dedicated server (finally!). I think DedicatedServer_Readme.txt requires update because there are differences between SS2 E and SS3:
* .cfg file path
* levels paths
* game modes (Cooperative, CooperativeStandard, CooperativeClassic)

// Now dedicated server entries infinite loop with this error: gameserver.cpp (1031) : Assertion failed: cPlayersMax >=0
I think I need to create new Coop.cfg file. This one I have is yours from SS2nd E.

Ok fixed. I had error in gam_strLevel path. First post is updated now so someone who wants can use this .cfg file.

Name of the server and everything from config file works now.

Last edited by jacmiszcz92: 12-24-2012 at 12:32 PM.
jacmiszcz92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:32 PM   #6
ChrisW
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 942
Posts: 3,072
You need to change:
gam_strLevel="\Content\SeriousSam3\All_01.gro\Cont ent\SeriousSam3\Levels\01_BFE\01_CairoSquare\01_Ca iroSquare.wld";

to

gam_strLevel="Content/SeriousSam3/Levels/01_BFE/01_CairoSquare/01_CairoSquare.wld";
ChrisW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:39 PM   #7
jacmiszcz92
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 235
Right.

Do you know what causes Code guard errors when I host dedicated servers? (first case)
Do you know why the game crashed while my friend and I were playing survival on my (not dedicated) server? (second case)

Merry Christmas
jacmiszcz92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 01:02 PM   #8
ChrisW
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 942
Posts: 3,072
No. I'm sure someone from Croteam will take a look at those files. Only thing I can think of is to make sure you are both playing the same version of the game, since your server is running the latest public beta.
ChrisW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 01:27 PM   #9
jacmiszcz92
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 235
About Code guard:
I saw this error in log file many times so I finally decided to ask
About crash:
Everything (my SS3 game, dedicated server and my friend's SS3) were public beta updated. We played coop and everything was ok until we changed to survival and I died. I was host.

Last edited by jacmiszcz92: 12-24-2012 at 01:30 PM.
jacmiszcz92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:52 PM   #10
alenl
 
alenl's Avatar
 
Croteam
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 336
Posts: 1,072
Code guard is an internal term for points where there are things that should never happen, but we suspect that perhaps it could (if some other area in code has some unexpected bug). We put extra checks there to prevent crashes, but we still print that "code guard activated", to notify that something wrong is going on somewhere.

These are not crashes per se, but could be indications of some bugs. And it definitely has nothing to do with pirating or DRM - they are plain "anti-bug" guards.

For us to fix a problem, you need to give us exact steps that we can use to reproduce it.
alenl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:52 PM   #11
jacmiszcz92
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 25
Posts: 235
I get it (Code guard part).

About crash:
I launched SS3 and hosted Standard coop game for me and my friend, Summer in Cairo map, 2 slots. I wanted to show him the Christmas tree but (ops!) it seems the tree is present only in single player. Because of that we changed game mode to coop survival, Villa map. It was first time we played this map in this session. WE played normal, my friend was alive, I died. As soon as I got killed by group of kamikazes the game crashed with malfunction message. I'm not quite sure if I pressed LMB to became spectator.
We also tried play this map on my friend's server (also not dedicated) and his game crushed same/similar way when he died.

I really would like to help you as much as I can. My friends don't want to use beta (can't play on official servers). I would need someone to play with... Do you know what I mean?

Last edited by jacmiszcz92: 01-05-2013 at 04:56 PM.
jacmiszcz92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 09:25 AM   #12
Roaming_Romeo
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Reputation: 15
Posts: 70
My co-op game in survival 'Deserted' keeps crashing with this same Code guard was activated due to application malfunction. Please report. issue in my logs. My game crashes when I play in spectator mode in this map in co-op. I haven't tried co-op in a month or two so have no idea why this happens.

My thread with Logs posted -
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=3066315
Roaming_Romeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Serious Sam series > Serious Sam 3: BFE


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.