Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 10:14 AM   #1
GDL
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1714
Posts: 3,086
Rename games.

I know it's been raised before and I'm raising it again.

Allow us to rename games, so much inconstancy is driving meh nuts.
GDL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:05 AM   #2
substrance
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 14
Posts: 120
Signed 10x

I really, really cant stand stuff like this: http://imgur.com/a/ZTDiF
Manual arrange would also be nice
substrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:40 AM   #3
Tito Shivan
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 3184
Posts: 8,889
Agree, but let's add too a tooltip so it shows the original game when hovering the title or something.

Or people will start 'losing' their games because they renamed it to something stupid they can't remember.
Tito Shivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:44 AM   #4
Port_A_Build
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Reputation: 86
Posts: 411
Yes! I have a "Sims2Launcher" in my Library because I added The Sims 2 as a Non-Steam game.
Port_A_Build is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:44 AM   #5
NaOHSpree
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 715
Posts: 3,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Port_A_Build View Post
Yes! I have a "Sims2Launcher" in my Library because I added The Sims 2 as a Non-Steam game.
You can change the name of a non-Steam game. Just right-click on it and select 'Properties' and there should be an option to change it.
NaOHSpree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 04:25 PM   #6
Port_A_Build
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Reputation: 86
Posts: 411
Thank you.

Now, if only I could rename Counter-Strike: Condition Zero to "Condition Zero"...
Port_A_Build is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:57 PM   #7
V2Blast
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 48
Posts: 610
Ah, if only. I'd settle for them just making the game-naming scheme consistent...
V2Blast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 05:11 AM   #8
GDL
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1714
Posts: 3,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by V2Blast View Post
Ah, if only. I'd settle for them just making the game-naming scheme consistent...
Either would be nice
GDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:21 AM   #9
Fyrisvellir
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 56
Posts: 368
Any news on this?

I hate that Resident Evil 5 is listed as Resident Evil 5, but Resident Evil 6 is listed as RESIDENT EVIL 6/BIOHAZARD 6. It's a problem with pretty much every series I have on Steam, though.

Also, I wish I could rearrange games in the lists to put them in sequence.
Fyrisvellir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 01:56 AM   #10
Χάρης
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 242
Posts: 772
You can make a shortcut in your desktop and re-name it.
Χάρης is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:42 AM   #11
GDL
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1714
Posts: 3,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Χάρης View Post
You can make a shortcut in your desktop and re-name it.
While you could, I hate having icons all over my desktop, even more so when I have to load a client to get at them in the first place.
GDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:15 AM   #12
KK_reborn
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Reputation: 1036
Posts: 5,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by GDL View Post
Allow us to rename games, so much inconstancy is driving meh nuts.
What inconsistency? Is this for Steam or non-Steam games? I'm not sure why this is needed...
KK_reborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:35 AM   #13
GDL
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1714
Posts: 3,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by KK_reborn View Post
What inconsistency?
Look at post two.
GDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:21 AM   #14
KK_reborn
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Reputation: 1036
Posts: 5,327
Yeah, I don't know if this is a good idea. Could affect many things - time tracking, screenshots, videos, etc., people could abuse the name system. Not really worth it.
KK_reborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 11:34 AM   #15
GDL
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 1714
Posts: 3,086
Valve normally go off the appid. Your right, it could thou depending on how the back end is setup. But then I'm not offering them how to, just a I would like to.
GDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.