Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2011, 02:00 PM   #1
Mr.SwingKing
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 100
Posts: 478
Rename games in library

I would like to have the option to rename my games in the library. I can do so with non-steam games, why not with Steam-games? I don't want to see things like Game of the Year Edition or Enahnced Edition. Also i could add missing suffixes.

As always, sorry for my bad language.
Mr.SwingKing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2011, 09:08 PM   #2
Daewa
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 7
Posts: 80
+1 I agree totally.
Daewa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 04:43 AM   #3
Rivent
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 51
I'm agreeing that I'd like this too purely because of the few games that were stupid enough to have (TM) in the name like Medal of Honor and The Sims 3.
Rivent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 04:43 AM   #4
Gone'Postal
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 1264
Posts: 3,741
Should have been in the client from the start. +1
Gone'Postal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:07 PM   #5
tzhu07
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 25
Posts: 42
Yes, I'd like to rename Steam games, and not just the non-Steam games.
tzhu07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:29 PM   #6
Keavon
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Posts: 124
I'm both for and against this. I hate seeing things like all caps, registered symbols, GotY edition, etc., but it can also get out of hand if you rename your games and confusing. But I think it should be the user's choice, but only be local (should not be visible to friends).
Keavon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:31 AM   #7
clivewil
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 84
+1 for renaming library entries.

besides unnecessarily long or stupid names, some of them are inconsistent between similar titles, e.g. 'DCS: Black Shark' and another in the same DCS series, 'Digital Combat Simulator: A-10C Warthog' - what a mouthful, and unlike e.g. most of the Half Life games which are all grouped together, they appear at different points in the list due to the irregular naming.

yes it's a trifling issue, but annoying all the same (annoying in the same way that the lack of persistent offline mode, or no multiple HD spanning is annoying...)
clivewil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:39 AM   #8
joelyay
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 238
Posts: 1,736
You'd need a way to view the original name otherwise it'll end up like this

*pop* GabeN is now playing Half-life 2 episode 3

You can tell this now with nonsteam games because it says it's a nonsteam/mod.
joelyay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:50 AM   #9
GDL
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 2008
Posts: 3,429
+1 Would love this option.
GDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 07:08 PM   #10
Spaztrick
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
I too would love to see this happen. Especially now that we can add custom images to the grid layout.

It annoys me seeing Doom3, Doom II, ten other games, Final Doom, thirty other games, Ultimate Doom. Or LEGO Batman 2, LEGO Batman, Lego Harry Potter, LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7, etc etc etc.
Spaztrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:14 AM   #11
GDL
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 2008
Posts: 3,429
Rename games.

I know it's been raised before and I'm raising it again.

Allow us to rename games, so much inconstancy is driving meh nuts.
GDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:05 AM   #12
substrance
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 14
Posts: 117
Signed 10x

I really, really cant stand stuff like this: http://imgur.com/a/ZTDiF
Manual arrange would also be nice
substrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:40 AM   #13
Tito Shivan
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 3379
Posts: 9,025
Agree, but let's add too a tooltip so it shows the original game when hovering the title or something.

Or people will start 'losing' their games because they renamed it to something stupid they can't remember.
Tito Shivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:44 AM   #14
Port_A_Build
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Reputation: 91
Posts: 410
Yes! I have a "Sims2Launcher" in my Library because I added The Sims 2 as a Non-Steam game.
Port_A_Build is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:44 AM   #15
NaOHSpree
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 715
Posts: 3,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Port_A_Build View Post
Yes! I have a "Sims2Launcher" in my Library because I added The Sims 2 as a Non-Steam game.
You can change the name of a non-Steam game. Just right-click on it and select 'Properties' and there should be an option to change it.
NaOHSpree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.