Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Binding of Isaac, The

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 11:18 AM   #1
dgnx
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Isaac with GPU acceleration!

You know Isaac can't use GPU and because of this it runs crappy on High detail.

Edmund said that they can't use GPU because of projector/encryptor software they use doesn't support it: http://www.formspring.me/EdmundM/q/333745371937273707

But in the latest Humble Bundle 7 they put pure Flash SWF file in the download page of Linux section!

Here is screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/MA2WL.png

How to run that SWF file with Windows?

1- Download that SWF file of Isaac WOTL from Linux download page of HIB-7

2- Download this: http://download.macromedia.com/pub/f...ayer_11_sa.exe

and put it to C:\

3- Right click to Isaac SWF file then Click "Properties" then Click "Change" button next to "Opens with". Click "Browse" button and select "C:\flashplayer_11_sa.exe" and press OK button.

4- Now you can open SWF files directly. Open Isaac SWF file.

Now you can play game with GPU acceleration. You cannot make it full screen but you can maximize window. Maybe someone else will figure out how to make it full screen.

Here are process screenshots of both Steam Isaac.exe file and pure SWF file

This is Steam Isaac: http://i.imgur.com/omZM0.png

This is pure Flash SWF: http://i.imgur.com/bd7Pp.png

As you can see Steam cannot use GPU but pure Flash SWF uses GPU.

Last edited by dgnx: 12-25-2012 at 11:25 AM.
dgnx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:37 AM   #2
BlazeFireMaster
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 83
Posts: 1,262
Wait, so you can only do this if you get the latest Humble Indie Bundle?
BlazeFireMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:23 AM   #3
dgnx
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazeFireMaster View Post
Wait, so you can only do this if you get the latest Humble Indie Bundle?
Someone said that you can dump swf file using a tool named "SWF Memory Dumper". This way you don't need to get Humble Bundle. You can extract SWF file from your own Steam copy. I didn't try it. You can look at this thread: http://www.reddit.com/r/bindingofisa..._acceleration/

Also you can get Humble Indie Bundle for a penny.
dgnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 06:37 PM   #4
dgnx
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Also you can run it on Mac too with this player: http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub..._11_sa.app.zip
dgnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:07 PM   #5
marcosamerio
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 81
¿Can u still get the achivements using this method?

Bye
marcosamerio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:41 AM   #6
BDl
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Reputation: 6
Posts: 192
No, it has no relation to steam
BDl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 04:16 AM   #7
NumberSeven
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 9
Posts: 216
Why?

I don't get what the importance of this is. I personally don't get any lag but I've seen playthroughs on YouTube where people have lag but it's not that bad.

Does this make it look better or something?

I guess, maybe just if you have an older computer this might help?
NumberSeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:51 PM   #8
phkuxato
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 140
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by NumberSeven View Post
I guess, maybe just if you have an older computer this might help?
It has nothing to do with older hardware. The game doesn't require much CPU power. I have an i7 and get a lot of stutter even with nothing else on the screen.
phkuxato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:12 AM   #9
Darkkahn
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcosamerio View Post
¿Can u still get the achivements using this method?

Bye
Yes. Since the save locations are the same, they'll unlock as soon as you launch the game from Steam.
Darkkahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:20 AM   #10
Amy
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 2400
Posts: 4,186
I wonder if it's work with the DRM free version too.
Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Binding of Isaac, The


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.