Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2013, 10:20 AM   #1
kombootje
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 94
Does Razer Boost work?

I usually like Razer Products and every now and again I visit the company's website for new products. Then I came upon Razer Boost. The program supposedly gives your computer literally a performance boost by temporarily disabling programs you don't need while playing the game.

http://www.razerzone.com/gamebooster#features

“The program is the latest evolution of the CNET editor five-star-rated Game Booster software, an immensely popular precursor that has been downloaded an astounding 100 million plus times.”

Even though it has been downloaded '100 million plus' times, I sounds to me like one of those: "Download extra RAM!"-advertisements that often appear on the Internet.

Does it work or is the performance boost so little that it's not worth the effort?
kombootje is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:42 AM   #2
ultrapwner
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 407
Posts: 1,903
It helps a bit with old computers, it stops processes like printer and maybe aero, to free up the cpu and ram.
ultrapwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:56 AM   #3
Sepioth
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 1515
Posts: 2,474
I have a friend who has been using it for over a year on an older LAN PC he has. Helps eliminate wasteful resources so the game has as much resources needed to play at a decent frame rate.

As ultrapwner said .. it helps with older PCs but newer PC's can benefit to.

I personally never needed it.
Sepioth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:58 AM   #4
Solona
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 2323
Posts: 831
Can't work that well, that Skyrim is only running at 36fps.
Solona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:10 AM   #5
HavocInferno
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 918
Posts: 2,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solona View Post
Can't work that well, that Skyrim is only running at 36fps.
What are you referring to?
HavocInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:33 AM   #6
Sepioth
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 1515
Posts: 2,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solona View Post
Can't work that well, that Skyrim is only running at 36fps.
It's not magic.

At the end of the day your FPS is LARGELY determined by your hardware. As well as in game settings.

And 36FPS is respectable.
Sepioth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:45 AM   #7
Nekomancer
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 3002
Posts: 16,420
Well, it only works on systems riddled with bloatware and tons of applications that are not necessary.
A well maintained system does not profit from it.
Nekomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:49 AM   #8
HavocInferno
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 918
Posts: 2,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sepioth View Post
It's not magic.

At the end of the day your FPS is LARGELY determined by your hardware. As well as in game settings.

And 36FPS is respectable.
Where do you take those 36fps from? They are in no way referenced to anything in this topic.
HavocInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:54 AM   #9
Sepioth
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 1515
Posts: 2,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by HavocInferno View Post
Where do you take those 36fps from? They are in no way referenced to anything in this topic.
It was towards Solona's post.

And how is it not a reference to anything in this topic. The topic is about GameBooster. A program the reduces system resources allowing games to run better and faster on your PC ... essentially raising your FPS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solona
Can't work that well, that Skyrim is only running at 36fps.
They way I read that was he used the program and all he got was 36fps in Skyrim from it. And the way he worded it sounds like he was expecting more.
Sepioth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:37 PM   #10
HavocInferno
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 918
Posts: 2,260
Well yeah my question initially was towards Solona cause those 36fps in Skyrim just popped up from nowhere, that's why.
HavocInferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.