Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2013, 10:49 PM   #1
Lansing
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 290
Posts: 142
Arrow How-To Install VirtualBox, Ubuntu, Steam & TF2 to get Tux (Pics & Clear Instuctions)

Hello everyone, I wrote an in-depth guide on how to install and configure VirtualBox, Ubuntu, Steam & TF2 in order to obtain the Tux Linux promotional item.

I hope some of you find it useful, I tried to use clear instructions and images to show the process from start to finish. It's not exactly simple to do for the average computer user, but with clear instructions it's much easier.

It would take approximately 1 hour to complete the whole process. By using VirtualBox it's also much safer to install Ubuntu, instead of partitioning your main pc. Hopefully people will be encouraged to try Linux as well, because it's an open and free environment.

Let me know if this has worked for you or if you have any advice.
Lansing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:03 PM   #2
whydontyoukissm
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 3
Posts: 18
Will try this later. And to uninstall everything, do I just uninstall VB or uninstall TF2 > STeam > Ubuntu and then VB? lol
whydontyoukissm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:12 PM   #3
MISSINGNO
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 1076
Posts: 2,037
You sir are a gentlemen. +rep
MISSINGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:20 PM   #4
Lansing
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 290
Posts: 142
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by whydontyoukissm View Post
Will try this later. And to uninstall everything, do I just uninstall VB or uninstall TF2 > STeam > Ubuntu and then VB? lol
Uninstall is very simple

1. Remove the virtual machine from VirtualBox.

2. Uninstall VirtualBox

3. Delete the ubuntu-12.10-desktop-i386.vbox & ubuntu-12.10-desktop-i386.vdi files you uncompressed earlier.

VirtualBox is great because you really can't mess anything up, and if you do you can start over. If you mess up a real Ubuntu install you can wipe your system if you don't know what you are doing.

VirtualBox is really cool however and it uses almost no resources or space, I would recommend to keep it if you want to ever test any operating systems in the future. You can even use it make a secure operating Linux system for accessing your bank account or other important accounts for security reasons. Much safer that way. I also use it for testing Windows software, before I decide to keep something or remove it.

I hope you guys give Linux a try, Steam support will only improve in the future and more games will become available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MISSINGNO View Post
You sir are a gentlemen. +rep
Thank you, hope it helps some people out.
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:24 PM   #5
Rickenlotus
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Reputation: 245
Posts: 1,035
Just what I needed. I'll give it a shot tomorrow, but have some rep.
Rickenlotus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:36 PM   #6
spacethief
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 231
Posts: 1,337
"you can still obtain Tux by launching TF2 for a few minutes before it crashes"

I've been messing with this for a couple hours, but I finally decided to check my backpack when I read this. I never had to truly launch the game. :P

+rep great guide
spacethief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 11:53 PM   #7
HeavyisOP
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 44
Posts: 160
Do you mind pasting it here?
HeavyisOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:01 AM   #8
Lansing
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 290
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyisOP View Post
Do you mind pasting it here?
Yeah sorry, it's too long to post and has images I made it offsite because it's rather complex.
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:08 AM   #9
The Medic
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3426
Posts: 12,446
Have some rep, fine sir.
The Medic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:13 AM   #10
whydontyoukissm
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 3
Posts: 18
Got a question:

Where do I put this in on windows? This is the recommended step for increasing the 20gb partition

cd “C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\”

VBoxManage modifyhd "C:\ubuntu-12.10-desktop-i386.vdi" --resize 40000
whydontyoukissm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:25 AM   #11
Lansing
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 290
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by whydontyoukissm View Post
Got a question:

Where do I put this in on windows? This is the recommended step for increasing the 20gb partition

cd “C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\”

VBoxManage modifyhd "C:\ubuntu-12.10-desktop-i386.vdi" --resize 40000
This is a double command to be issued inside of the cmd.

You can open the cmd by typing cmd in the search or run field of your Windows OS. The cmd is a terminal like application for Windows.

cd “C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\” will go into your VirtualBox directy, also check to make sure that's the correct path.

After that you issue the second command:

VBoxManage modifyhd "C:\ubuntu-12.10-desktop-i386.vdi" --resize 40000

What this command does is start up VBoxManage.exe which is in the VirtualBox directory, it then tells is to modify ubuntu-12.10-desktop-i386.vdi to the defined size 40000 which = 40 GB.

Make sure that C:\ubuntu-12.10-desktop-i386.vdi path is correct.

If you are doing this you will then need to use gparted live cd to fix the partitions, otherwise Ubuntu will not see a change.

Last edited by Lansing: 02-15-2013 at 12:27 AM.
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:31 AM   #12
whydontyoukissm
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Reputation: 3
Posts: 18
OK thanks, will try thr gparted live step and get back to you

Last edited by whydontyoukissm: 02-15-2013 at 12:36 AM.
whydontyoukissm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:42 AM   #13
hairy potty
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 85
Posts: 71
lol, I tried to start Ubuntu from USB earlier and I couldn't install Steam. Thanks mang.
hairy potty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 12:58 AM   #14
Lansing
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 290
Posts: 142
This will require a little bit of computer knowledge, just keep trying and re-read the steps carefully. It's very difficult to describe every single step in the most minuet detail without the whole guide being 100 pages long.

You need to think a little bit. I think partitioning with gparted might be a bit tricky for some people. You are trying to move the extended and swap section to the right by resizing and to expand the primary ext4 partition to give it more space.

If you skip this step, you may run out of space on Ubuntu as TF2 takes over 13GB of space and if you require an update it uses further space to save files + Ubuntu uses 3GB space and 1GB roughly is used by swap.
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 01:17 AM   #15
AtomicStryker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 14
Posts: 298
Fatal error: Steam does not run in Virtualbox with 3D acceleration enabled. Try turning off 3D acceleration


EDIT:

While i am aware i can turn off 3D acceleration, doing so will prevent TF2 from launching at all.

Last edited by AtomicStryker: 02-15-2013 at 01:31 AM.
AtomicStryker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.