Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2013, 08:07 AM   #1
Shadowhawk36
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Question Steam Won't Open

The problem I'm facing is the fact that when I try to open the Steam Client from my computer, nothing happens. There's the loading symbol next to the cursor for a few seconds, but that's it. Nothing else happens. I've tried restarting my computer, disabling my firewall, and completely disabling my Anti-Virus (Norton Anti-Virus) after I have disconnected from the internet. Still, nothing happens. I was going to uninstall Norton Anti-Virus and get AVG instead, but on the support page for "Programs Which May Interfere With Steam", it is said to be even more of a problem than Norton. I've also tried putting Steam.exe as an acceptance for Norton, but that did nothing. Also, I've installed the most recent Java version. Is there any suggestions that you guys have for me to get Steam working, or another Anti-Virus I could use that is (preferably free) safe and won't interfere with Steam?

Oh, I just remembered. I haven't tried a full reinstallation of Steam, because I have dial-up usually, but I took my computer to a relatives house where I could use their wi-fi. I also played a Steam game (Amnesia, to be exact) rather recently (within the last month, I believe), and just after that I ran a full back-up and full scan.
Shadowhawk36 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:26 AM   #2
Hegemon
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Reputation: 127
Posts: 1,554
Did you try to run Steam as administrator?
Hegemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:27 AM   #3
MADDOGGE
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 11267
Posts: 26,107
Only do a reinstall as a last restort. If you do reinstall Steam be sure to save your steamapps folder somewhere safe(desktop, stand alone HD, another partition) so you don't have to redownload all your games again. Especially if as you say you are stuck with dial-up.


Try these things in order til hopefully something works.

1) Do a blob fix. Exit steam, find and rename your ClientRegistry.blob file. Restart Steam and see if it will load.
if that doesn't work try #2

2) Delete everything but the steamapps folder and the Steam exe. Restart Steam. It should redownload the files deleted and start up. If that doesn't work go to #3

3) Save your steamapps folder, uninstall Steam completely. Reinstall Steam. Paste you saved steamapps folder into the fresh Steam install. Try to bring up Steam.
MADDOGGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:21 AM   #4
Shadowhawk36
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
First off, sorry for not responding sooner.

Yes, I've tried running Steam as an Administrator.

As for the blob fix, what would I rename the file to? Or would I just delete it?
I will try these suggestions and get back to you guys (Much sooner this time).
Shadowhawk36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:45 AM   #5
LesMoore
 
LesMoore's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2003
Reputation: 3165
Posts: 5,909
Check this out....


https://support.steampowered.com/kb_...7241-EYON-2343

__________________
The probability of someone watching you is proportional to the stupidity of your act .
-------------------------------------------
Forum Rules | Reporting Suspected Cheaters | Steam Support
LesMoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:09 AM   #6
Shadowhawk36
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I just noticed all of you are using 'Restart Steam' for the fixes. That would imply that for it to work, I would have to have access to Steam. I can't open it up, at all. So the blob fix wouldn't work without starting Steam. Steam isn't on the task manager, by the way. It's completely off from what I can tell.
Quote:
2) Delete everything but the steamapps folder and the Steam exe. Restart Steam. It should redownload the files deleted and start up. If that doesn't work go to #3
Just tried that. I clicked on the icon and it said:

"Steam - Fatal Error

Steam needs to be online to update, but was set to offline mode."
At least it's responding. But how do I set it to online mode without turning Steam on? Do I need to do a full reinstall at this point, since that's really one of the few options left? Yes, I now know it's a last resort, but I have maybe a good 3 or 4 hours before I have to leave. (I can still get on the Steam Forums on dial-up, though.)
Shadowhawk36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:05 AM   #7
PELUXA1
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 1259
Posts: 8,875
Try checking this thread...
PELUXA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 11:12 AM   #8
Shadowhawk36
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Hmm, I need to uninstall, it seems. Well, I might as well do it now.


EDIT: So, I manually uninstalled it and downloaded the installer from Valve. Do I use the Remove option? Because Repair isn't working. Just wanted to check. Thanks for all the help so far, guys.

Last edited by Shadowhawk36: 02-18-2013 at 11:23 AM. Reason: Addition to Post
Shadowhawk36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:37 PM   #9
Shadowhawk36
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Got it working! Thanks for all the help, guys. I appreciate it.
Shadowhawk36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 09:26 AM   #10
bogulez
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
Check that no-one else is logged on to your PC and has Steam open before following these steps XD
bogulez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 07:34 AM   #11
0thecreeper3
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Posts: 9
I don't think this qualifies as a necropost, so I'll just say it
First go into Task manager and make sure Steam.exe isn't there.
If it is there, end its process
That's how fixed my Steam
0thecreeper3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 12:51 AM   #12
aaron001999
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Smile

THANKS Othecreeper3 that helped me didn't feel like uninstalling it so again thanks it worked. I forgot all about the task manager processors tab.
aaron001999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 06:12 PM   #13
littledub0918
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 53
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0thecreeper3 View Post
I don't think this qualifies as a necropost, so I'll just say it
First go into Task manager and make sure Steam.exe isn't there.
If it is there, end its process
That's how fixed my Steam
I know it could be classified as a necromance, but holy .
This worked! Thank you, dude!
littledub0918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 09:38 AM   #14
Hyperdragon97
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0thecreeper3 View Post
I don't think this qualifies as a necropost, so I'll just say it
First go into Task manager and make sure Steam.exe isn't there.
If it is there, end its process
That's how fixed my Steam
This worked for me too! Thank you!
Hyperdragon97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 01:34 PM   #15
VALIS666
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0thecreeper3 View Post
I don't think this qualifies as a necropost, so I'll just say it
First go into Task manager and make sure Steam.exe isn't there.
If it is there, end its process
That's how fixed my Steam
Yep, exactly. Watch the Steam entry for a minute or two first to see if it's using any CPU cycles, and if not, end the process, wait about 10-20 seconds and restart. Works every time I've needed it to.
VALIS666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.