Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Old 02-21-2013, 07:24 AM   #1
adamt89

Exclamation Steam Games Crashing on Windows 8

With the recent Steam application updates, I have been facing terrible issue with Steam. My computer overall has been messing up so bad that I had to reinstall my Windows 8 from a backup. Now that my Windows 8 is working I am facing one major issue, When I start up a game on Steam, I get a little pasted the game intro and my computer crashes by shutting down and then restarting, I am not getting any blue screens or windows errors. I am a computer technician and with after troubleshooting, this is what I am thinking, Steam is just having problems.

Now I would like to point out that I did recently replace my graphics card, I now have the Nvidia Gforce GT 630. When I first installed this graphics card, I installed the driver for Windows Vista and the card did work. I was able to play steam games and everythign was fine. About 2 days later, Steam had an update, which forced my steam to close and update. The very next day I had all of the issues. My computer would shut down and restart, sometimes not turn back on for quiet some time, and everything just was getting worse, I found my computer running very slow for the specs I have and nothing was adding up, well after I formatted my hard drive, I reinstalled windows 8 and restored my system image I made and my computer now is working well. I have not updated my graphics card since the restore. The only issue that I am having now is all of my games with Steam crashing my computer and making it restart. Now every time I see my computer restart from a crash, Steam has an update. Even when I shut down my computer on my own terms and restart it, I still see this issue. I checked my computers event viewer to see any application errors or hardware errors and all I see is Adobe CS5 issues, which has nothing to do with steam.