Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 09:15 AM   #1
TheHamz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 206
Posts: 1,727
Getting insane lag in "competetive matches"

Hello

I come to you today with a weird problem.

I don't usually play competetive TF2 but I've given it a try now today, and I can't play at all.

I get an odd type of lag, that makes people teleport around, and forces me to stand still for 2 seconds and then teleport forward.

I have tried to record the last half of my last match so you can see how the lag is, and how it suddently stops, after the match is over.

Video:
http://youtu.be/fi3ymEbJUE8
At 2:14 you can see how the problem is, whenever I move through slode doors

What I think the problem is:
In the matches I've played, I've had no lag pre-game. It all seems to start, when the match starts, as soon as people do the "P-REC" binds. I don't know if it can be the issue, but it's just funny it starts right after.

My question to you:
Do you know this issue? Have you experienced it? Have you heard of it? Can you help me?!

Last edited by TheHamz: 02-26-2013 at 09:21 AM.
TheHamz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:43 AM   #2
AlanStatham
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 53
Posts: 475
Try putting

Code:
mat_queue_mode -1
in your autoexec.cfg

If you're using the demo system some mat_queue_mode settings are buggy.

If you're not using the demo system, type "record xoxoxo" into console, then type "stop". Should fix it.
AlanStatham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:51 AM   #3
BabiesPls
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 601
Posts: 4,790
Maybe the server gets all laggy with all those demo's being recorded. (I have no idea what I'm talking about.)
BabiesPls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:51 AM   #4
ctb
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 1741
Posts: 7,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanStatham View Post
If you're not using the demo system, type "record xoxoxo" into console, then type "stop". Should fix it.
I got this little script from a post on here that does that without having to open the console:

bind r "record fix;stop"

Put that in the autoexec.cfg if you have one. Pressing the assigned button makes a bit of lag for a second but it re-renders everything properly. Heck I have to press that a lot in normal play.
ctb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:32 AM   #5
TheHamz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 206
Posts: 1,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanStatham View Post
Try putting

Code:
mat_queue_mode -1
in your autoexec.cfg

If you're using the demo system some mat_queue_mode settings are buggy.

If you're not using the demo system, type "record xoxoxo" into console, then type "stop". Should fix it.
I'll try the queue command next time I'm on.

It's not the demo system because I'm not recording, myself. Though I admit I did try it before posting, but it didn't work.

Thanks though, +rep in advance, I'll return if it doesn't help! :-)
TheHamz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:19 AM   #6
Not_Matlock
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 771
Posts: 4,959
It could be your rates. Most competitive server configs force cl_interp_ratio to 1 when the default is 2. This can cause some issues if you have some weird rate settings.
Not_Matlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:52 AM   #7
Nocturnal
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 58
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by BabiesPls View Post
Maybe the server gets all laggy with all those demo's being recorded. (I have no idea what I'm talking about.)
Recording demos will NOT cause lag.
Nocturnal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:15 AM   #8
TheHamz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 206
Posts: 1,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Not_Matlock View Post
It could be your rates. Most competitive server configs force cl_interp_ratio to 1 when the default is 2. This can cause some issues if you have some weird rate settings.
So the only rate I need to chance is interp to 1?
TheHamz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:20 AM   #9
caldoran
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 2369
Posts: 7,094
It may be a fault with the server, what with the recording of SourceTV demos and whatnot. You should try this with a different server and report your experience.
caldoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:28 AM   #10
TheHamz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 206
Posts: 1,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by caldoran View Post
It may be a fault with the server, what with the recording of SourceTV demos and whatnot. You should try this with a different server and report your experience.
It happend on 3 different servers, each playing different maps (cp_freight, pl_upward, pl_badwater)
And as said, the lag started when the match began, and ended same time as the match. (It felt like P-REC triggered it)
TheHamz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:33 AM   #11
caldoran
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Reputation: 2369
Posts: 7,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHamz View Post
It happend on 3 different servers, each playing different maps (cp_freight, pl_upward, pl_badwater)
And as said, the lag started when the match began, and ended same time as the match. (It felt like P-REC triggered it)
All P-REC does is automate the recording of demos which are client-side and do not affect other players apart from the chat notices, so I highly doubt it's the problem.

Have you tried the generic fix of verifying your game files?
caldoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:30 AM   #12
TheHamz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 206
Posts: 1,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by caldoran View Post
All P-REC does is automate the recording of demos which are client-side and do not affect other players apart from the chat notices, so I highly doubt it's the problem.

Have you tried the generic fix of verifying your game files?
The game is newly installed a month ago, so I doubt that'd help?
TheHamz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:38 AM   #13
t-Lol
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 166
Posts: 513
Don't play "competetive matches", then.
t-Lol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 05:46 AM   #14
Johnny1234567
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 473
Posts: 887
Quote:
Originally Posted by t-Lol View Post
Don't play "competetive matches", then.
Bad troll.

You have probably just been unlucky to be on sh*t servers, or maybe you have somehow messed up your rates. P-REC shouldn't have any effect on this.
Johnny1234567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:27 AM   #15
TheHamz
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 206
Posts: 1,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny1234567 View Post
Bad troll.

You have probably just been unlucky to be on sh*t servers, or maybe you have somehow messed up your rates. P-REC shouldn't have any effect on this.
What rates should be changed, and to what? I'd really love that answer :-)
TheHamz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.