Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2013, 08:09 AM   #1
Greener223224
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Dec 2012
Reputation: 113
Posts: 557
What kind of graphics card do you need to play the game properly?

I thought I could find a thread for help wth functions, but I couldn't, so I decided to post here in case it was proper or so someone could move it into the proper thread.

Anyways, the problem's in the title.
I have an Acer Laptop that started with Windows 7, I'm F2P, and I have no graphics card of any kind save whatever the laptop came with.
Greener223224 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:26 AM   #2
Yayoi Takatsuki
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 290
Posts: 738
If you want some cheap ones I'd suggest you the GTX 560 or the 580. Both handle TF2 Perfectly.
Or an AMD Radeon HD 6870.
Yayoi Takatsuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:29 AM   #3
Atomic Bang
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 560
Posts: 2,154
Ati HD 5450 works perfectly for me.
Very very cheap.
Atomic Bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:39 AM   #4
hawkshadow741
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 2503
Posts: 18,956
Anything as long as it's not nVidia, or whatever

I'm using a Graphics Media Accelerator HD and I have yet to get a TF2 crash

My old desktop used an ATI Radeon and it crashed often...

Last edited by hawkshadow741: 02-27-2013 at 08:58 AM.
hawkshadow741 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:42 AM   #5
goldnuts
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 185
Posts: 1,880
470GTX used to power through TF2 at 1920x1200 with everything maxed

Current and recent nVidia cards work perfectly, ignore the troll above
goldnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:43 AM   #6
ceu160193
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 450
Posts: 6,075
AMD Radeon HD 6950.
ceu160193 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:58 AM   #7
hawkshadow741
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 2503
Posts: 18,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldnuts View Post
Current and recent nVidia cards work perfectly, ignore the troll above
Not trolling if it's true, bro
hawkshadow741 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:05 AM   #8
Koopa Rokudaime
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 176
Posts: 628
As long as we're asking questions here.

Am i able to use a dedicated graphics card on my Lenovo G-series laptop?

If so, which ones can I use?

And if I make the switch, will it burn out my laptop? (probably)
Koopa Rokudaime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:05 AM   #9
Stas823
 
 
 
Banned
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 26
Posts: 231
AMVidia 7990GTX HD
Make sure to Use 3 or 4 at the same time using crossli otherwise you won't even get that 2mil fps that every gamer KNOWS is the sweetspot where screen tearing makes everything crisp and clear.
Stas823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:07 AM   #10
Trilby Hat
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 769
Posts: 3,006
Your CPU is more important. I use a cheapo HD6670 1GB, does me fine.
Trilby Hat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:09 AM   #11
Ganonthegreat
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Reputation: 492
Posts: 1,580
I got the uber cheap GeForce GT 340, and it plays it at 1920x1080 on highest settings with no lag.

Try a website called System Requirements Lab, it tells you what you need to upgrade on your PC to run a game.
Ganonthegreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:34 AM   #12
Yayoi Takatsuki
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 290
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ganonthegreat View Post
I got the uber cheap GeForce GT 340, and it plays it at 1920x1080 on highest settings with no lag.

Try a website called System Requirements Lab, it tells you what you need to upgrade on your PC to run a game.
Pentium 4 lol
Yayoi Takatsuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:40 AM   #13
1101 0100
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 351
Posts: 1,809
I got integrated Intel HD3000 graphics, and with everything on high (except AA) @ 35-45 FPS.
1101 0100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:50 AM   #14
NinePipeProblem
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Reputation: 421
Posts: 1,290
I also have W7, and I use Nvidia 9500 GT, and 2gb or RAM. Game runs at 60fps on 1080p, at high graphics.
NinePipeProblem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 10:01 AM   #15
japanimater
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 544
Posts: 3,178
I use a Nvidia GTX460 with a i7-920 intel cpu with 8 gigs of ram at 1920x1080. I have it set to the highest setting except on 2x on AA with no motion blur and multi-core rendering on. I never get crashes but I do get bouts of system lag where the gameplay will freeze upwards to 5-7 seconds before resuming and i'm usually dead.
japanimater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Team Fortress 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.