Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Black Ops II

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2013, 03:01 PM   #1
Infinity7
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 344
Posts: 3,920
Thumbs up Ghosts Optimizations Summary

Updated info is now moved to posts 1103, 1104, and 1105 of this thread, because of some blocking.
It's been necessary to split the content to these 3 consecutive posts.

Last edited by Infinity7: 08-16-2015 at 09:58 AM. Reason: Updated info is moved
Infinity7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 04:27 PM   #2
T3HK4T
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 19
Posts: 306
I'd recommend putting what the command changes do.
T3HK4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 05:01 PM   #3
Infinity7
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 344
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by T3HK4T View Post
I'd recommend putting what the command changes do.
Yeah. I still haven't gotten past figuring out how to get the most kills yet by tweaking video settings. Lots to do here....
Infinity7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 05:28 PM   #4
_FloydThe_
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 192
Lightbulb

packetdup 5 is a joke right?
so you're suggesting people to flood the game with commands all over the place?

the only thing this will do in the end is to ruin it for everyone
_FloydThe_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 05:32 PM   #5
Infinity7
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 344
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by _FloydThe_ View Post
packetdup 5 is a joke right?
so you're suggesting people to flood the game with commands all over the place?

the only thing this will do in the end is to ruin it for everyone
Try it and let me know if it benefits your score. We used to do this for the first CoD Black Ops, but after the first patch came out the tweak wasn't needed.
Infinity7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 08:32 PM   #6
9d3ts
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 34
Posts: 386
Thanks for this.

I figured out a temp fix for the AMD card menu stutter. It "seems" to be an audio conflict between the AMD on board HDMI audio and the game. Go into device manager and disable the AMD HDMI audio. It will still stutter a little, but I can at least create a class without pulling my hair out. Im half temped to say it could be a onboard audio issues also. I remember a few games having this issue with certain devices.

Last edited by 9d3ts: 11-05-2013 at 08:35 PM.
9d3ts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 08:40 PM   #7
Infinity7
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 344
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9d3ts View Post
Thanks for this.

I figured out a temp fix for the AMD card menu stutter. It "seems" to be an audio conflict between the AMD on board HDMI audio and the game. Go into device manager and disable the AMD HDMI audio. It will still stutter a little, but I can at least create a class without pulling my hair out. Im half temped to say it could be a onboard audio issues also. I remember a few games having this issue with certain devices.
Yeah, when I first got my NVidia GTX 580 card, the HDMI audio driver for that card was slowing down my Black Ops (1st one) until I uninstalled it.

I was going to explore and audio slowdowns and mouse slowdowns after I got done with the video tests.

Last I heard, AMD had not released a Catalyst driver for Ghosts. Maybe they have by now.
Infinity7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 11:23 PM   #8
b@man
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 47
Posts: 1,092
The config tweaks helped me. I would add, turn off AA in game and set it on your V-Card software. That was a big help too.
b@man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 11:41 PM   #9
seniorwells
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 5
Posts: 45
Nice work infinity. Keep us posted with your findings mate. I'm sure there's a lot of people that are desperate to get the game running better
seniorwells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:42 AM   #10
Hybrydowy
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 3
Posts: 68
I suggest set image quality to "Extra". Everything else looks blurry.
Hybrydowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 03:54 AM   #11
iDentity BLaZeY
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9d3ts View Post
Thanks for this.

I figured out a temp fix for the AMD card menu stutter. It "seems" to be an audio conflict between the AMD on board HDMI audio and the game. Go into device manager and disable the AMD HDMI audio. It will still stutter a little, but I can at least create a class without pulling my hair out. Im half temped to say it could be a onboard audio issues also. I remember a few games having this issue with certain devices.
had it disabled a while still menu stutter -_-
iDentity BLaZeY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 06:34 AM   #12
fattony163
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 228
Flickering

I fixed the flicking of your gun sights or attachments. In the Nvidia control panel I set the SLI to single GPU and this fixed it.
fattony163 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 07:14 AM   #13
jimmitch
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 59
subcribed
jimmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:08 AM   #14
81Riel
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Reputation: 6
Posts: 130
"Depth of Field: * Low for performance." There's only "yes" or "no" in Ghosts.
81Riel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 09:26 AM   #15
Infinity7
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 344
Posts: 3,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81Riel View Post
"Depth of Field: * Low for performance." There's only "yes" or "no" in Ghosts.
Fixed. Thanks.
Infinity7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Call of Duty series > Black Ops II


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2015, All Rights Reserved.