Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2014, 12:33 PM   #1
antCB
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Reputation: 22
Posts: 368
CS:GO Memory Leak

The first time one starts up and minimizes CS:GO, the damned thing starts to eat away memory until it crashes.

starts with around 600mb occupied ram, i'm now sitting at 1.3GB of occupied ram and waiting for the game to crash.

http://i.imgur.com/CfxxQtY.png

EDIT[1]: update close to 2GB of ram eaten up by CS:GO,

proof: http://i.imgur.com/cIur13c.png

-----------

Obviously needs fixing ASAP.

---

SPECS:

Intel core i5 4570 @3.4GHZ
Gskill Ripjaw 2x4GB DDR3 1600Mhz
XFX HD7870 Black Edition - latest drivers (catalyst 13.12)

Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 - fully updated
Adobe Flash 11.9 - fully updated

---

EDIT[2]: while finishing writing the thread it's close to eat up to 3GB of ram. Jesus fckn Christ.

http://i.imgur.com/l3CPtAP.png

---

EDIT[3]: well, it crashed after using 3.68GB of ram... If you wonder what's all that non-sense of windows opened, it's just taskmanager and resource monitor, good idea to keep resource monitor opened up so I could see at what amount of used memory CS:GO crashes

http://i.imgur.com/qQgGSmh.png

reddited for visibility... http://www.reddit.com/r/GlobalOffens...eak_herp_derp/

Last edited by antCB: 01-01-2014 at 01:03 PM.
antCB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 01:52 PM   #2
hamilton5
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 31
Posts: 442
If that's what your considering your memory - If you go back into the game it will go back to normal or drop back down significantly.
hamilton5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 02:24 PM   #3
DragonSlayer99
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Reputation: 1112
Posts: 3,721
I noticed that running it in the background (as in minimizing) crashes the game after like 10-30min. Funnily enough, It doesn't crash while ingame at all, lol.
DragonSlayer99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 03:02 PM   #4
Mave.ts
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 1326
Posts: 5,925
Run it in 'Fullscreen Windowed' mode. It'll fix a lot of things.
Mave.ts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 03:03 PM   #5
antCB
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Reputation: 22
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamilton5 View Post
If that's what your considering your memory - If you go back into the game it will go back to normal or drop back down significantly.
and you think that's remotely acceptable? roflol

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mave.ts View Post
Run it in 'Fullscreen Windowed' mode. It'll fix a lot of things.
ty, but what about the brightness/gamma ?? even if it helps (which i believe it does), I don't think that's an acceptable fallback or that the devs can just forget about this...

PS: removing background.swf (messed around with some files and shiz) does nothing in order to stop excessive memory usage.

Last edited by antCB: 01-01-2014 at 03:11 PM.
antCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 03:11 PM   #6
Euphytose
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 438
Posts: 4,747
So that's what was happening!

I see people crash left and right myself included.

They really gotta fix this, it's unexcusable.
Euphytose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 03:13 PM   #7
antCB
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Reputation: 22
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Euphytose View Post
So that's what was happening!

I see people crash left and right myself included.

They really gotta fix this, it's unexcusable.
I rarely crash in-game, but if I leave CS:GO idling and minimized after a few mins (usually 20/30mins) it will crash, that's a given
antCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 03:45 PM   #8
hamilton5
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Reputation: 31
Posts: 442
now I wonder why they did that :rollseyes:
hamilton5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 08:43 PM   #9
STAV3
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 10
Posts: 41
This sounds like a "feature" to punish idlers lol
STAV3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 09:17 PM   #10
antCB
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Reputation: 22
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by STAV3 View Post
This sounds like a "feature" to punish idlers lol
1- not connected to a server;
2- it's a bug, it's not a 'feature';
3- checking for idlers can be done with class and without resorting to this sort of crap.

Initial testing makes me believe something with Scaleform/Flash is wrong, or at least the way Valve implements it. Deleting background.swf doesn't make the "bug" go away.
antCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 08:12 AM   #11
stifler1992
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Reputation: 74
Posts: 162
Picture
stifler1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 06:57 AM   #12
sepp0
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Reputation: 188
Posts: 1,104
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonSlayer99 View Post
I noticed that running it in the background (as in minimizing) crashes the game after like 10-30min. Funnily enough, It doesn't crash while ingame at all, lol.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mave.ts View Post
Run it in 'Fullscreen Windowed' mode. It'll fix a lot of things.
I have 16GB RAM and my game crashes if minimized for a short period. But as long as the game is open (maximized) I can play for several hours straight..

Should be fixed, but not an issue for me as my games starts very fast with an SSD and i7 cpu and I'm not playing when I minimize the game...
sepp0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:57 AM   #13
kevenc
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 72
Go into your CS:GO folder -> resource -> delete the background file.

The background is causing the memory leaks.


Source: fixed mine.
kevenc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:32 AM   #14
jakey1995abc
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
My PC is doing the exact same thing, also while csgo is using up 2gb+ ram my game stays under 10fps while a lot of people are shooting :/
AMD FX8350 @ 4.4GHZ
ASUS GTX770 OC edition Latest Beta drivers (GeForce 334.67)
Gskill Ripjaw 2x4GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Windows 7 Professional 64bit SP1
jakey1995abc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 10:49 AM   #15
xellestar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 28
Yeah i think we all know this exe is being coded by some clueless dudes. Wish valve would take care of these things themselves

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...Cap755ture.JPG
xellestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Counter-Strike: Global Offensive


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.