Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Source DS (Linux)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2007, 03:30 PM   #1
AnacortesBoys
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Do all verisons of srcds require SSE?

Does anyone know if an SSE enabled processor is now required for ALL versions of the Linux srcds? I am getting a crash (invalid instruction) on startup on a newly installed OS and vanilla srcds install.

Thanks
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 04:03 PM   #2
TheMG
 
TheMG's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2007
Reputation: 1899
Posts: 10,283
I believe so (ie. don't try to run it on a P2 or something). Pentium III is the oldest to support SSE.
TheMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 04:21 PM   #3
AnacortesBoys
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
No, this is a AMD Athlon, socket A, 1100mHz, which I believe was referred to at the time as "Thunderbird". By chance anyone successfully running this processor (so I can rule out lack of SSE as my issue)?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 04:31 PM   #4
TheMG
 
TheMG's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2007
Reputation: 1899
Posts: 10,283
Agreed, SSE is not your issue, that CPU supports it.
TheMG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 04:42 PM   #5
AnacortesBoys
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the confirmation.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 04:59 PM   #6
kennycom
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
a quick look at /proc/cpuinfo would show what the cpu did and did not support in the flags line
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 05:42 PM   #7
AnacortesBoys
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes, and from that (and AMD docs) I am sure the processor I have does not contain the SSE instruction set. The "it" that TheMG was preferring to in this case is srcds. This CPU should be able to run srcds_run.
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 08:11 PM   #8
kennycom
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
He was thinking that your CPU did support SSE,, but you would have to check the cpuinfo to confirm it,, yes you do need it to run srcds_run (well, srcds_run is just a script but the binaries that it points to require it..)
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 06:45 PM   #9
AnacortesBoys
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
So the Linux versions requires an SSE enabled processor, but the WINDOWS version of srcds.exe does not?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 09:33 PM   #10
kennycom
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I do not know what is required of windows, as I only subscribe to the linux list, and the 1 windows server I have dealt with was new enough to support SSE2.....
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Source DS (Linux)


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.