Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Half-Life DS (Windows)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2006, 04:49 PM   #496
t('.'t) Panda
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Well, they're ok.

I just made a quick plugin to precache all the my wavs and mp3. So it's all being downloaded at fast speed!

Thanks for helping me. ^^
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 04:13 PM   #497
TheVVS
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
WAD Files

Ehm.. another one:

It works all fine for me, till.. my CS wants to download WAD Files. It sais "Could not open ...wad" and crashes. I dont know whats happening here - i could download my wads from the webserver - after inserting in my cs client theres no problem..

i tried a Download url with a /cstrike folder. It seems, that the Server dont even tries to send the wad file. Could it be a missing Res-File?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 10:33 PM   #498
Colster
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 0
Posts: 637
I had this problem when I made the res files in notepad, if I used resgen then the wads get sent.

No idea why this is as the notepad version was identical but hey it worked so I just use that now.

In fact the HL engine is pretty good at knowing what files need sending (sprites/models etc) and a res file is generally not needed until you have a map that has a wad file, then the only way to get it to upload to clients is a res file and for me the only way to get the res file to work properly was to let resgen make it for me.
Colster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 02:05 AM   #499
TheVVS
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanx, will try!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 08:36 AM   #500
TheVVS
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
hm.. a friend of mine said, that he couldnt get the wad.
CS told him "could not open as_tundra.wad" and closes.

All maps have res-files.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 09:47 AM   #501
Colster
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 0
Posts: 637
Did you use ResGEN to make them though, give that a try
Colster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 09:51 AM   #502
TheVVS
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes, i had..
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 09:52 AM   #503
TheVVS
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Cannot edit? Hm..
anyway - The content of the ResFile for CS_India is:
gfx/env/indiaup.tga
gfx/env/indiadn.tga
gfx/env/indiaft.tga
gfx/env/indialf.tga
gfx/env/indiart.tga
gfx/env/indiabk.tga
maps/cs_india.txt
maps/cs_india.bsp
sound/cs_india/song01.wav
sound/cs_india/song02.wav
sound/cs_india/GameCfg.wc

There´s no WAD..
How could i tell ResGen to add this entry´s?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 09:54 AM   #504
TheVVS
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I see - in cs_bikini.res f.e. it has a wad-file.. hm..
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 11:21 AM   #505
Colster
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 0
Posts: 637
Yeh typically if ResGEN doesnt add a wad then the map doesnt have/need one.
Colster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 10:39 AM   #506
9of12
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

has any one got the banner.gif to work as yet? I see we got the connection host gif back but my banner.gif is still not working i did work before steam messed it all up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 11:57 AM   #507
Colster
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 0
Posts: 637
It won't work, probably ever... steam/valve have turned it off and have no plans to re-enable it
Colster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 11:58 AM   #508
Colster
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 0
Posts: 637
Update on the wad issue, I used ResGEN to make a res file for dod_skyline_b3 and it didnt add the wad.

I had to add it manually but it only worked if the wad was the first entry in the list.
Colster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 09:45 PM   #509
spunko
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 0
Posts: 32
hi all.. does anyone know a good freeweb where i could upload my files??

cuz my server is getting popular and i have lots of files, maybe i could upload some to the web and leave some for the default server download

thanx
spunko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 09:58 PM   #510
[SMK]-RuStY
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
freeweb?? not possible especially for fast download for maps it uses alot of bandwidth so if you did go with a free host you would max ur bandwidth out on it within a day probabally...just rest some webspace cost ya $15 american or $10 canadian.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Half-Life DS (Windows)


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The TFC Bug List - Fix Please Whit Team Fortress Classic 318 01-01-2014 03:34 AM
-tos and -pingboost explanation anyone? Ap0kalipSe Half-Life DS (Linux) 0 07-24-2004 01:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.