Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2007, 07:36 AM   #1
EvolvedAnt
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Inconsitency between HL2 and HL2 Deathmatch

I've been designing a map for Half-Life 2 Deathmatch.
I usualy edit my maps for HL2:SP first since buildcubemap command seems to only work if I do it while my map is running in SP. Afterwards I copy the map into HL2M. I noticed some inconsitencys between mapping for Half-Life 2 single player, and Half-Life 2 Deathmatch.

I've found that some entities that work well in HL2 SP do not function the same or at all within HL2 DM. I would like to know how I can fix this, hopefully I am just doing something wrong.

My first problem is with func_smokevolume. In Half-Life 2 Single Player, the smoke sprites generated from that entitie get lit by the surrounding light entities thus making a white fog look. This is the correct functionality. In Half-Life 2 Deathmatch the same compiled map will have the smoke sprites unlit, leaving nothing but a black smoke that looks nothing like fog, and everything like smog. The sprite used is smokegrenade1.spr or smokegrenade.spr.

My second problem is with func_precipitation. In HL2 SP you can see rain, in HL2 DM you see nothing. Now another interesting part, if you set func_precipitation to type 'ash', you see nothing in HL2 SP, but in HL2 DM you see purple and black sprites that fall just like ash or snowflakes should, except for the apparently missing sprite texture.

I'm not sure why these entities perform differently but for the level i am creating, I really REALLY need func_smokevolume and func_precipitation to work in HL2 DM. Please if anyone can offer even the slightest insight..
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 08:00 AM   #2
haymaker
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Reputation: 31
Posts: 1,296
Well I can't offer too much tech advice, just that there are maps out there with what you want, so we know it's possible. There's a revenholm rip with a buch of goofy colored smoke, I forget what it's called; and dm_tower_arena ( diff versions ) has a nasty rainstorm on the go.
haymaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 08:05 AM   #3
EvolvedAnt
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I will look into those maps and check it out. If they do work, then perhaps I am doing something wrong. I'm thinking maybe I can create a very simple single room map with both entities and upload it so you guys can test out the differences yourself.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 09:25 AM   #4
lodle
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Reputation: 36
Posts: 1,715
You should always use hammer in hl2dm config mode as the entitys might and will have different properties. Also since hl2dm is multiplayer alot of code changes are needed as to reduce network bandwidth (in single player its basically infinite) and you will find that alot of entites are removed or act different.
lodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:35 AM   #5
zyklus
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lodle View Post
You should always use hammer in hl2dm config mode as the entitys might and will have different properties. Also since hl2dm is multiplayer alot of code changes are needed as to reduce network bandwidth (in single player its basically infinite) and you will find that alot of entites are removed or act different.
I agree. You should always set ssdk configurations to the game you are working with... Besides, can't you run an hl2dm map on hl2sp?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:42 AM   #6
EvolvedAnt
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I suppose your right, that may be part of the problem as well. I will switch the config to HL2DM and see if that works.

On a side note, is it normal that buildcubemaps command does not function entirely if ran from HL2DM? That was one of the main reasons I built for HL2SP first.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 11:09 AM   #7
Taymar
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Buildcubemaps does function with HL2DM you just have to ask it nicely. . . . In all seriousness yes it will work but because of the code changes from SP to MP things are a little different. Having several cube maps on a MP map can slow things down, it's like the 'Cheap' and 'Expensive' water thing with source.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 10:27 PM   #8
EvolvedAnt
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Buildcubemaps command is not working at all for me in HL2DM. It displays all the photo taking, but it does not apply anything to the windows, etc. Even with only 1 env_cubemap, it still does not work unless the command is given while running the map in HL2 Single Player.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 02:35 PM   #9
vecima
 
Join Date: May 2006
Reputation: 4
Posts: 709
this may not be the problem, but i believe that after building cubemaps you may need to shut the game down, then re launch it and re load the map.
vecima is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.