Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2014, 11:36 PM   #1
Clobbersaurous
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
"Connection failed after 4 retries" error keeps happening after frequent disconnects.

Wasn't sure where exactly I should post this but I guessed this might be appropriate.
Anyhow, over the past two days I've been able to play TF2 for about 30 minutes before I get disconnected, and then upon trying to get onto any server afterwards, I get the "Connection failed after 4 retries" error. After approximately 10 minutes I am again allowed to connect only for it to DC again after another 30 minutes while the process starts again. It does not matter which server I attempt to connect to, it happens on all of them. The strange part is that my computer still shows full connection and I can still message people on steam and go onto my browser during the unable to connect time period. Also, about 5 days ago I got a new modem to replace my old one and this did not happen for the first 3 days after I set it up. My computer is not a cheap one either, it is an Alienware Aurora I bought less than a year ago. I've never had this problem before yesterday.
I've looked around on the internet to try to figure out what I should do to fix this problem to no avail. What I've done so far (that has not worked); restarted steam, restarted computer, restarted modem, made an exception for my entire steam folder under Norton antivirus, ran diagnostic test under Norton, verified integrity of game cache, switched from wireless to wired connection.
No idea what to do now, so I went ahead and created a forum account to ask. Any ideas?
Clobbersaurous is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 11:59 PM   #2
Akvalier
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 398
Posts: 998
I'm assuming you meant router, and not modem?

The router provides wireless signals, and usually has more than 1 LAN port.

The Modem is usually 1 Ethernet port, and has a coax, fiber channel, or telephone port.

In the case of it actually being a router, plug directly into the modem.
If the problem goes away, test with another router.
If the problem is also nonexistant, go back to your new router.
If the problem comes back, it is the router.

If the problem recurs while your are directly connected to the modem, you might want to investigate your computer for some kind of malware.
There are several malware known to explicitly attack common connection ports in steam.
Those ports are
27005 - 27025.

Run this tool
JRT
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/down...-removal-tool/

ADWCleaner
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/download/adwcleaner/

and
MalwareBytes, AntiMalware
https://www.malwarebytes.org/
Akvalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 12:19 AM   #3
Clobbersaurous
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
You are correct, I meant router. My old router had stopped functioning completely and the new router had worked previously, so I do not think it is the router. If your tools don't show anything I'll try that anyway.
Clobbersaurous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 12:29 AM   #4
Akvalier
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 398
Posts: 998
Could you also tell us what make and model your new router is?
Akvalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 09:13 PM   #5
Clobbersaurous
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
After doing the malwarebytes scan and testing for about a day, it appears to be working fine now. Thank you Akvalier.
Clobbersaurous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 09:28 PM   #6
Akvalier
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 398
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clobbersaurous View Post
After doing the malwarebytes scan and testing for about a day, it appears to be working fine now. Thank you Akvalier.
You are very welcome!
Happy fraggin!

If those programs turned up an threats, you might want to run an ESET online scan.
It is powered by the award winning ESET Nod32 program.
http://www.eset.com/us/online-scanner/

It is a run-once, threat removal tool
It takes some time to scan, but it is tantamount to running the actual product.
Akvalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Steam Community Discussion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.