Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design

Old 01-10-2008, 03:33 PM   #1
Izzard

Q3DM17 for ...um... TF2 (and some questions)

Hi. I'm new with Hammer but enthusiastic about making a TF2 version of my favourite Quake 3 Arena map: Q3DM17, aka "The Longest Yard".

I've got the basic geometry of the central portion down and I'm now spending hours tweaking angles and parameters in an effort to get the 'jump pads' as close to the original as possible.

I've got two things I'd like some help with:

1) How to I change the map information for TF2, so that it says something about the map? At the moment it just says the map name in capitals before you get to the team selection screen.

2) Is there anything I can do to speed up testing? At the moment I have Hammer and TF2 running side by side and I run the map from the console each time I compile it (which is fine). The annoying thing is that I have to click-click-click through the introductory screens, and then I have to wait a couple of seconds before I can move.. ..then I get repositioned after 10 seconds or so after the 'waiting for players' period. And, of course, when I die I have to wait to respawn. I'd like to get rid of all these delays while I'm testing. (You die a lot trying to get this map right.)

(Quick shout-out to Acegikmo for his help figuring out Hammer and TF2 mapping. Thanks!)

Old 01-10-2008, 03:50 PM   #2
Sawgutts

Try http://www.sdknuts.net/akg/akgsrch.asp
Old 01-10-2008, 04:02 PM   #3
Izzard

Looks like some good tutorials but nothing to help my TF2 issues, I don't think.
Old 01-16-2008, 06:18 PM   #4
boernerjp

I don't know if this applies to TF2, but for HL2DM maps I use the following parameters while compiling "-dev -novideo -console +sv_lan 1 -windowed" (don't use the quotes)