Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > ARMA series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2008, 07:10 PM   #1
GregW
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Reputation: 9
Posts: 536
Exclamation Windows Vista Users w/ Bad Serial Number

If you're experiencing any issues with the game reporting "bad serial number", please follow these steps:

1. Exit Steam
2. Launch Steam as an administrator. You can do this by right-clicking on Steam.exe (located in C:\Program Files\Steam by default) and then clicking "properties".
3. Run ArmA again
GregW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 12:54 PM   #2
Sordal
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 115
Unhappy Bad Serial Number given in setup

I just finished downloading the game I try to start it up and well I get an error saying Bad serial number given in setup, anyone know a fix? Thanks.
Sordal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 01:10 PM   #3
Yukk
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sordal View Post
I just finished downloading the game I try to start it up and well I get an error saying Bad serial number given in setup, anyone know a fix? Thanks.
SAME THING !!!! Somebody please help!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 01:13 PM   #4
Toto pectore
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 901
Posts: 2,018
Steam support article: Missing CD Key
Toto pectore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 01:22 PM   #5
Yukk
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank you very much, that worked!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 01:24 PM   #6
Sordal
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 115
thanks toto that fixed my problem
Sordal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 01:36 PM   #7
Skater
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Same Here! I am friggin' pi$$ed!

-Skater
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 01:39 PM   #8
Skater
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
This step cannot be completed because the option is not available when I right-click.

1. Right-click on the game in the My Games tab and select View Game CD Key.

-Skater
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 01:58 PM   #9
LloydBraun
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
If your problem is "Bad serial number," there is a solution stickied on the main Arma page http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...d.php?t=662748
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 01:13 AM   #10
ffluffybunny
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 98
Little request for a precision here : since I got bitten by this on Win 7, should Steam *always* run as admin or just once (to install something) ?

And if it's always, shouldn't some kind of privilege escalation be used instead of this very ugly and potentially dangerous hack ?
ffluffybunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 02:05 AM   #11
Punisher!|ITA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Reputation: 26
Posts: 1,098
If user is an administrator after Service Pack 1 there is NO NEED to manually run as administrator.
Punisher!|ITA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 05:22 AM   #12
ffluffybunny
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Punisher!|ITA View Post
If user is an administrator after Service Pack 1 there is NO NEED to manually run as administrator.
There's a SP1 for Windows 7 ?
ffluffybunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 03:36 PM   #13
Gel214th
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 91
ARMA 2 - Bad serial number given in setup

Hello,

I just purchased, downloaded for 8 hours ARMA II. I am now trying to run the game, and when I launch it, I get a dialog box saying bad serial number given in setup.

I never got a serial number, I never entered a serial number anywhere.

So I cannot launch the game. Anyone have any ideas?
Gel214th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 05:38 PM   #14
FooIsm
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 285
verify the integrity of your cache.
If that doesnt work, send a support off to steam.
FooIsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2009, 05:52 PM   #15
Gel214th
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 91
Hi..yes.

Verifying the cache integrity worked.
Thanks much!
Gel214th is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > ARMA series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.