Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Blazing Angels series

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2009, 07:35 AM   #46
BusDriverUk
 
Join Date: May 2008
Reputation: 9
Posts: 520
but using the 'ahem' inside you steam folder will lead to having your steam account locked down doesnt it?
BusDriverUk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 08:07 AM   #47
Noel127
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjj59 View Post
If you have the error message "Cannot run Blazing Angels" under windows Vista, you can fix it easily:
You just have to change the compatibility mode of the program SettingsApplication.exe. Put the compatibility mode to Windows 98 (it doesn't work if you put Windows XP). After that, launch the game normally from Steam and it should work.

I don't know why it works but the most important is that you can play the game on windows Vista.

Enjoy!!

PS: I play the game on Vista 32bits but I think this solution will work on Vista 64 too.



DUDE OMG IT WORKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS OK!!!!!!!
All you have to do is go into your steam folder and go into your steam apps after that go into common folder and find blazing angels folder go in it now look for the icon that has a picture of two things crossing over one another called settings application.exe and run it in compatibility mode Windows 98 but dont start it out from the folder but start it inside steam go to your games and start it from there this is where mine was.
C:computer/local/programs files/steam/steamapps/common/blazing angels/settings application.exe
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 08:24 AM   #48
be77solo
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
i don't think so, who knows, but that'd be a heck of a battle if they did... you already own the game, which you purchased through Steam, and we're allowed to modify our games, that's one of the great things about Steam... so, I don't see how simply getting the game to run would be an issue. We ran into a similar problem with Manhunt on Vista, and that required modifying the .exe along with some other files to get to run, and nobody had any issues with that. Just a problem with a few older games.

I think a bigger issue is cheating on VAC servers, that's where you can run into some issues being banned, but this game has nothing to due with Valve or it's secured servers. Check these posts in another thread here:

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...=807397&page=2

Seems to make sense to me, but your mileage may vary. I'm sure by the letter of the user agreement it could get funky, and by no means am I telling you or anyone to do it, or that I've ever tried it, but that's what I've read.......

It's a fun game though, hate to see it die for old outdated copy protection issues.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:21 AM   #49
urbantank
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
Thumbs down OMG, this is a useless company

Are you kidding me, you sell a game that is coming out that is new like Rainbowsix Hawx and you give away a false hope of getting a free game that cant run on Vista?? Are you kidding me? I know the game is only $10, but come on Steam, didnt you think that people would have Vista, why dont you credit the Vista users $10 and say that this is only for XP on the PRE PURCHASE PAGE

My god what the hell is up with these people

Nuff said I have vented!
urbantank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:29 AM   #50
redlabour
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Reputation: 6
Posts: 430
It works with Vista - just activate the 98/ME Compatibility Mode.
redlabour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:30 AM   #51
urbantank
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 5
LOL my bad

Quote:
Originally Posted by redlabour View Post
It works with Vista - just activate the 98/ME Compatibility Mode.
yea I got it to load, but now when I am in the game and it says launching is just sits there, did yours do that?
urbantank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:36 AM   #52
redlabour
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Reputation: 6
Posts: 430
No - check the Cache. Mine works fine ...
redlabour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 04:28 PM   #53
be77solo
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
i do have issues with the compatibility mode....mine launches and runs fine, but as soon as a mission ends, it crashes. Every time, no matter which mission or game mode. Very wierd.

Love the game though, am really impressed with the graphics, gameplay, wish Ubisoft would simply patch the Vista issues. Thought all along this was a poor console port until I actually tried it, but it's actually a really good game, great environment, fun game.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 05:46 PM   #54
ch0kolateYoshi
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Talking I Think i has found a solution

For all users using Windows 7 Ultimate or keep getting the "Cannot run Blazing Angels" error, then this might help you.

This is how i got my Blazing Angels Squadron of WWII working

My Computer Specs:
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit Operating System
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ 3.00 GHz
RAM: 2.00 GB of ram
GPU: nVidia GeForce 9800 GT 1gb

To get get Blazing Angels working Go to:

http://www.gameburnworld.com/gp/game...onsofww2.shtml

and download the "BLAZING ANGELS: SQUADRONS OF WW2 v1.02 [ENGLISH] NO-DVD/FIXED EXE"

After you have downloaded it, extract it and move the files to the steam/steamapps/common/blazing angels squadron of wwii folder.
I recommend you making a backup of your old files just incase.

In the steam/steamapps/common/blazing angels squadron of wwii folder, look for an application/.exe called SettingsApplication. Right click on it, go to properties, click on the Compatibility tab on the top and tick "Run this program in compatibility mode for:" and in the drop down box, select Windows 98/Windows Me. click apply and once that is done. Run the SettingsApplication from the folder, not from steam or you will get the "This game is currently unavailable" error.

If you did this correctly then it should work... It worked for me and hopefully it works for you. Im pretty sure it works online.

I don't know if this is legal or not i just wanted to play the game.

Hope this helps you guys.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 10:49 PM   #55
Sweetz
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 333
Posts: 1,350
Giving this game away with HAWX is a joke.

I've gotten it running after reading this thread, but now I can't seem to map my 360 controller correctly. It detects the left stick input as buttons instead of an analog stick.

This is the shoddiest port job I've seen in a long, long time. Really puts into perspective how good the ports we're getting now actually are.
Sweetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 04:41 PM   #56
Dingo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 80
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by superjj59 View Post
the compatibility mode of the program SettingsApplication.exe. Put the compatibility mode to Windows 98

Many thanks.
Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 09:31 PM   #57
Fedoruk
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 72
i just got this game for 10 dollars, and after seeing what the other angry posters have said, im still a little miffed, but im wondering if there are any other solutions to running on vista, cause i too am getting sick and tired of buying games then having to go through loops to play them


edit: was able to run with 98 compatability, but sits at black screen and i hear the menu music, im gonna mess with the settings to see if i can get it to work, but im not very hopeful

Last edited by Fedoruk: 05-28-2009 at 09:38 PM.
Fedoruk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 07:27 AM   #58
grassotto
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
this is how i solved it on windows 7 64bit (is the same on vista 64bit)
a) put win98 compatibility for settingsapplication.exe
b) installed another game that uses starforce, updated starforce drivers with a file from starforce site http://www.star-force.com/support/sfdrvup.zip
c) run blazing angels from steam

nm..it worked at first but not anymore after rebooting

Last edited by grassotto: 12-07-2009 at 11:00 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 11:13 AM   #59
os10
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 57
Vista 64 here. this game wasn't working for me either, same startup problem as everyone else. configuring settingsapplication.exe for win98 compatibility mode did fix the problem and it runs normally now. Steam really should have this solution posted somewhere obvious, and tech support should be made aware. this does not reflect good on Steam at all and makes me wary of making further purchases.
os10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 08:21 PM   #60
Zenerol
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 49
Win 7 Pro 64

I just wanted to confirm that the "configuring settingsapplication.exe for win98 compatibility mode" for Windows 7 Pro 64bit also works. I had the same problem as others, even XP mode would not work, setting "settingsapplication.exe" to Win98/ME compatibility mode worked a charm. It now runs fine. You DO NOT need to download any cracks.

I should also mention, that Blazing Angels 2 worked straight up, I did not need to change anything. It runs fine without running in compatibility mode.

Last edited by Zenerol: 07-25-2010 at 08:24 PM.
Zenerol is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Blazing Angels series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.