Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Half-Life DS (Windows)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2009, 02:19 PM   #61
webc0der
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 25
Exclamation

Okay, I have been trying to figure this thing out all day. I have tried using Source Dedicated server (from the "tools" list in steam)

I have put the "steam_appid.txt" in C:/Program Files/Steam/steamapps/webc0der/source dedicated server/hl2mp/steam_appid.txt

and when I do "status" in console, i get this:

Code:
hostname:  (STK) #4 Private Server
version : 1.0.0.12/7 3945 secure 
udp/ip  :  5.18.37.35:27015
map     :  dm_lockdown at: 0 x, 0 y, 0 z
players :  0 (10 max)
Still couldnt get it to show up in the servers list, so I downloaded the hldsupdatetool, and put the "steam_appid.txt" in C:/HLServer/hl2mp/steam_appid.txt

and when I do "status" in console, i get this:

Code:
hostname:  (STK) #4 Private Server
version : 1.0.0.12/7 3945 secure 
udp/ip  :  5.18.37.35:27015
map     :  dm_lockdown at: 0 x, 0 y, 0 z
players :  0 (10 max)
So I dunno what the hell im doing wrong Any suggestions?

Kind Regards,
webcoder
webc0der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 01:48 PM   #62
spike_devil
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
master list doesn't show my server

couldn't exec banned.cfg
Adding master at 207.173.177.12:27010
Adding master at 69.28.151.162:27011
Adding master at 207.173.177.11:27011
Setmaster: Unknown command enable
Menu item 17 added to Menus Front-End: "Plugin Cvars" from plugin "pluginmenu.amxx"
Menu item 18 added to Menus Front-End: "Plugin Commands" from plugin "pluginmenu.amxx"
Connection to Steam servers successful.
VAC secure mode is activated.


status
hostname: ~NL~ weeded-gamers
version : 48/1.1.2.6 4554 secure (10)
tcp/ip : 192.168.1.130:27015
map : cs_assault at: 0 x, 0 y, 0 z
players : 15 active (30 max)

people can join if i give them my ip..
but i want random guys to join too anny suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 08:14 AM   #63
Irina
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
You might want to point out, in the original post, that it's the
c:\program files\steam\steamapps\user_login\DEDICATED SERVER\GAME\ 'steam_appid.txt' file that needs to contain the correct ID number...

*** NOT ***
c:\program file\steam\steamapps\user_login\GAME\GAME\ 'steam_appid.txt'
*** NOT ***

I (shamefully) confused the two for a little while before I realized it...

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Quote:
Originally Posted by spike_devil View Post
hostname: ~NL~ weeded-gamers
version : 48/1.1.2.6 4554 secure (10)
tcp/ip : 192.168.1.130:27015
map : cs_assault at: 0 x, 0 y, 0 z
players : 15 active (30 max)

people can join if i give them my ip..
but i want random guys to join too anny suggestions?
As you can see, the TCP/IP settings for your server is a Private IP (As defined by RFC 1918 and RFC 4193). This means only users within your local are network, and inside the same subnet, can join your server using that IP. Or in other words, people on the Internet CAN NOT connect to your server using that IP.

Note: The reason you see that IP and can connect to it is because you are viewing and connecting to the server from the same network AND the same 1:1 NAT IP address. It's all technical, but because your SERVER is on ip 123.321.123.321 (See under why I use that number as an example) on the port 27015, you can NOT use that to connect to it, thus you use the Private IP/local IP address. When you install the Dedicated Server for the first time, through Steam, this will be explained to you in a pop-up window...

You need to find your Public IP address ( Find yours by going to www.whatismyip.com ) and give that to them with the correct port number.

i.e. if you forwarded the port 27015 to your PC/Server (Private IP 192.168.1.130), and your Public IP is 123.321.123.123, then your friends should use 123.321.123.123:27015 to connect/add to server favorites if they are connecting from outside your local area network.

If you enable your server to be accessible from the Internet (Dedicated Server option before you START it / "sv_lan 0" + "restart" (console commands)) then random people can/will find the server in the Server list once the Master server is updated. This takes some time though, just be patient and have someone test it by manually connecting to your Public IP:
Console command: " connect IPːport " (connect 123.321.123.123:27015)

If your friends cannot connect to the server from the Internet, you need to do a port forwarding from your router (http://192.168.1.1 - Login with your admin/password, look for "Port Forwarding". Remember to enable port forwarding on port 27015 to your 192.168.1.130 address for both TCP and UDP).

Hope this helps a little...


In a nutshell, if your friends can connect to your Public IP already now, just be patient and keep your server ON so that the Master Server can update it's lists with your server on it!

Last edited by Irina: 09-06-2010 at 08:37 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 10:33 AM   #64
RandallFlagg
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
The only folders in my Dedicated Server folder are "platform" and "valve." There's no folders listing any of my games. Where would I put the appid file?
RandallFlagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 08:12 AM   #65
qUiCkSiLvEr
 
qUiCkSiLvEr's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2003
Reputation: 1968
Posts: 4,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandallFlagg View Post
The only folders in my Dedicated Server folder are "platform" and "valve." There's no folders listing any of my games. Where would I put the appid file?
The Valve folder is the one you want.

__________________
Would you like a little Cheeze with that Whine?
Discretion is urged, precision called for, objectivity a must.
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.
If you take a risk, you may lose. If you never take a risk, you will always lose.
qUiCkSiLvEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 06:05 PM   #66
RandallFlagg
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by qUiCkSiLvEr View Post
The Valve folder is the one you want.
Crap. I just put the steam_appid.txt file in my Steam folder, and tried to launch the Dedicated Server. Still got the, "Unable to initialize Steam," error.
RandallFlagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 06:42 PM   #67
qUiCkSiLvEr
 
qUiCkSiLvEr's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2003
Reputation: 1968
Posts: 4,954
For Half-Life, make sure you put the file in this location (might vary with your steam install):
...\Steam\steamapps\<account>\dedicated server\valve\steam_appid.txt

make sure that file has just the text:

70

in it (use notepad).

__________________
Would you like a little Cheeze with that Whine?
Discretion is urged, precision called for, objectivity a must.
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.
If you take a risk, you may lose. If you never take a risk, you will always lose.
qUiCkSiLvEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 06:45 PM   #68
RandallFlagg
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
So, I don't have to have all of this (As mentioned earlier in the thread)?
// Valve Game Info file
// These are key/value pairs. Certain mods will use different settings.
//
game "Half-Life"
startmap "c0a0"
trainmap "t0a0"
mpentity "info_player_deathmatch"
gamedll "dlls\hl.dll"
gamedll_linux "dlls/hl_i386.so"
secure "1"
type "multiplayer_only"
RandallFlagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 07:00 PM   #69
qUiCkSiLvEr
 
qUiCkSiLvEr's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2003
Reputation: 1968
Posts: 4,954
That file is your liblist.gam file which should also be in the same location.

__________________
Would you like a little Cheeze with that Whine?
Discretion is urged, precision called for, objectivity a must.
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.
If you take a risk, you may lose. If you never take a risk, you will always lose.
qUiCkSiLvEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 07:10 PM   #70
RandallFlagg
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Okay.
I made 2 text files in my dedicated server\valve folder, one called liblist.gam which has all of that stuff in my post #68, and another called steam_appid which has just the number 70 in it. Correct?

BTW, thank you for putting up with me. My Son wants to play and I couldn't get this to run for him.
RandallFlagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 07:50 PM   #71
qUiCkSiLvEr
 
qUiCkSiLvEr's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2003
Reputation: 1968
Posts: 4,954
That should do it.

__________________
Would you like a little Cheeze with that Whine?
Discretion is urged, precision called for, objectivity a must.
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.
If you take a risk, you may lose. If you never take a risk, you will always lose.

Last edited by qUiCkSiLvEr: 11-21-2010 at 06:07 PM.
qUiCkSiLvEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 05:20 PM   #72
RandallFlagg
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
That worked.
I wish that this thing came with instructions. Do I click on, "Play Game," on, "Dedicated Server," then click on and play HL2DM on both PCs to play with my Sons?

My Sons and I play L4D1-2 online all the time, but he really wants to launch things at me with the Gravity Gun. We never could get HL2DM to work, though.
RandallFlagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 06:22 PM   #73
qUiCkSiLvEr
 
qUiCkSiLvEr's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2003
Reputation: 1968
Posts: 4,954
Dedicated Server is for HL1 games only (HLDM).

Source Dedicated Server was for HL2 games (HL2DM) but it isn't available in the tools menu at the moment (see below).

There are two ways to run servers, listen server and dedicated server.

With Listen Server, you start the regular game (HLDM or HL2DM) then in the menu just click on the option to "Create Server", choose a map and hit Start. Your son can then join you by searching for a server on the LAN tab in Steam > Servers.

This is probably the easiest way to play together.

Since HL2DM was moved over to OrangeBox, Source Dedicated Server appears to be missing right now in the tools menu.

Team Fortress 2 Dedicated Server actually has DODS, CSS and TF2 servers but HL2DM is missing and it's not in the scope of this thread to talk about how to fix it.

Check in the HL2DM forum section and post there for additional help.

__________________
Would you like a little Cheeze with that Whine?
Discretion is urged, precision called for, objectivity a must.
Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.
If you take a risk, you may lose. If you never take a risk, you will always lose.
qUiCkSiLvEr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 06:25 PM   #74
RandallFlagg
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 27
Sweet! Thank you so much. You rock.
I'll get on it whenever my Son gets done screwing around in Garry's Mod.
Have a good one!
RandallFlagg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 11:36 PM   #75
Vingi69
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
im lost. i put the "steam_appid.txt" in the "cstrike" folder. now what?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Dedicated Server Discussions > Half-Life DS (Windows)


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Servers stoped to appear on the LAN tab after upgrade to AMD64 Lazarus Long Half-Life DS (Linux) 2 06-29-2005 11:27 AM
How do i install mad-d Source DS (Windows) 4 05-02-2005 08:09 PM
Map change with Rcon via rcon crashing servers after March 9th update Tatsun Source DS (Linux) 2 03-10-2005 10:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.