Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2009, 03:38 AM   #1
adzske
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 13
Default Internet Speed Connection?

Hello, could someone please tell me what internet speed is default set at when you install steam
adzske is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 03:43 AM   #2
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,873
You pick your Internet speed during Steam installation process.
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 04:21 AM   #3
adzske
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 13
ye i know but, i want to know what is default speed notch set at?
adzske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 05:51 AM   #4
Blackops
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 1356
Posts: 4,490
I think DSL 256K is default.
Blackops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:27 PM   #5
Jesse1234
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 251
Posts: 4,888
Before i make a thread about this, im having some trouble with this. Everytime i restart steam this gets reset. It will either go to 256K or just not be selected at all. So when i go to enter a game in TF2 my ping goes nuts. Im not 100% sure this is the cause but it seemed to fix my ping issue this morning.

Is there anything i can add to the .exe of steam to make it start-up with 2M or 10M?
Jesse1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:32 PM   #6
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,873
Peek at HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Valve\Steam key in registry and change value of rate key to 30000.
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 01:42 PM   #7
Jesse1234
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 251
Posts: 4,888
Is having rate 35000 in my autoexec just as good? Or should i do it in the registry?
Jesse1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 02:07 PM   #8
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,873
Edit one in registry.
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 02:16 PM   #9
Jesse1234
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Reputation: 251
Posts: 4,888
Cool it automatically set itself to 10M.

thanks acid!

You have given out too much reputation in the last 24 hours, please try again later.
Jesse1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 08:30 PM   #10
adzske
 
Banned
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 4
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by AciD View Post
Peek at HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Valve\Steam key in registry and change value of rate key to 30000.
How do you do that?
adzske is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
our servers are not listed under "Internet servers" ?? bizarre_urban Half-Life DS (Linux) 6 08-27-2004 02:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.