Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Day of Defeat: Source

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2009, 06:02 PM   #1
~HS~Infidel
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry Steam beta must be running to make use of find servers.

Whenever I go to play on Day of defeat Source, It used to be fine but one day I hit find servers, and it said: Steam beta must be running to find servers. I looked all over the internet to find help, nothing worked. I reinstalled steam, but that didn't work, I re-downloaded the game, still didn't work. I even checked for a steam beta in the settings. And there wasn't one. Someone please help me! I'm jarateed!
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 03:27 PM   #2
Bradilee
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5
Posts: 178
I had this once, and I'm pretty sure I fixed it by exiting Source & then logging back in again. You would think that re-installing would do the trick in that case.
Have you tried deleting the server config file?
Bradilee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 07:33 PM   #3
~HS~Infidel
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
How do I exit the source? and i will try the other thing you said.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 04:33 AM   #4
Tes4o
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 26
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~HS~Infidel View Post
How do I exit the source? and i will try the other thing you said.
I'm guessing he means to either exit hl2.exe (Ctrl+Alt+Del and exit in task manager) or just exit steam (right click on steam in your task bar, click exit.)
Tes4o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 04:28 PM   #5
w0bbl3r
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 22
Posts: 734
steam beta must be running

i have this same problem.
to cure this, i have to quit the game, then shut down steam, and start it again. keep doing this, until eventually it works.
if you look in the steam server browser, you will see that there are servers there, proving that it is a steam issue, not a problem with your net connection, or with your firewall blocking steam.
i am sick of this, but can find no other solution than keep restarting steam until it works.
my problem is with any valve game online. the game works, i can browse the menus, but it wont do anything related to online, as it tells me that "steam beta must be running to make us of...whatever",
i also never had this problem before the last steam update, which further tells me it is a steam issue, rather than anything to do with my computer.
please give me any help if you find it
w0bbl3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 08:10 AM   #6
Bradilee
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5
Posts: 178
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tes4o View Post
I'm guessing he means to either exit hl2.exe (Ctrl+Alt+Del and exit in task manager) or just exit steam (right click on steam in your task bar, click exit.)
Yeah I was just talking about right click exit, then re-start. looking at the next guys post this looks like it may take afew tries.
Bradilee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 01:24 AM   #7
kajar9
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 37
This is caused by very recent updates
I found out that you must install the updates twice!
What i mean with twice?!?

You have to update, delete the clientregistry.blob from the steam folder and run steam again (it will update again)
Then comes up the login screen.

Then login and you should be able to play on servers again

This fixes a lot of problems with steam

Reboot is also a good thing to do!

Also VAC servers are down! they take quite a while to update!

Last edited by kajar9: 01-20-2010 at 01:39 AM.
kajar9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 02:11 AM   #8
alexanderswang
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 355
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by kajar9 View Post
This is caused by very recent updates
I found out that you must install the updates twice!
What i mean with twice?!?

You have to update, delete the clientregistry.blob from the steam folder and run steam again (it will update again)
Then comes up the login screen.

Then login and you should be able to play on servers again

This fixes a lot of problems with steam

Reboot is also a good thing to do!

Also VAC servers are down! they take quite a while to update!
just as you said , but still doesn't work ...
alexanderswang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 09:40 AM   #9
alexanderswang
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 355
Posts: 579
Hey guys , try this :

http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1116400

good luck

Last edited by alexanderswang: 01-20-2010 at 09:42 AM.
alexanderswang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 06:31 AM   #10
Bradilee
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 5
Posts: 178
WHen I followed that link my view of the DODS forum went up about 100 miles.
Anyway, I am UK based & have no foreign chracters in my folder names.
Like I said (about a year ago which I don't rememeber) exit steam & re-start.
Bradilee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 08:15 AM   #11
WarDog64
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Reputation: 18
Posts: 759
this is bs! i even tried manually entering the IP of my favorite server and it came back saying "server not responding"! wtf. Valve, you need to fix this asap! funny thing is it works fine on my wifes machine whjich is running XP? im on win7 64 bit myself ...
WarDog64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 08:51 AM   #12
davidklaw
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Exclamation

i have windows xp, i also have a similar problem to this.
so this morning a played css for a while and then went to play css on my other comp. on my other comp it said something about steam cloud. it was the other comp's files or local files, i picked local files. now when i go on it says u need steam beta to find servers. anyone know what do to help please.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 07:03 PM   #13
864gaming
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Eek, there are lots of these topics around, does anyone else have a solution?
I have the same problem, tried deleting the clientregistry.blob and reupdating with no luck.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 07:36 PM   #14
sniperchick
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 73
Posts: 593
nah, there's probably no solution, you guys are just inadvertently beta testing the next major dods update, don't worry soon we'll all have the problem, and valve will fix that pesky glitch that fixes it by restarting steam occasionally
sniperchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 04:40 AM   #15
chrstphrtlbt
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
I had this problem, just restart and validate the source files and you'll be fine.
chrstphrtlbt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Day of Defeat: Source


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.