Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2009, 01:10 PM   #1
emarshallp
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy unable to open steamTmp.exe for writing

So i tried to play L4Dead and steam began to update itself. At 26% complete, I got the above error. Steam support doesn't seem to care much, so I thought I would ask about it here. Anyone had this prob. before? I have tried many remedies ( remove .blob, restart w/ all non microsoft stuff off, emptied caches, reinstall from a disk, and others) and none have worked yet.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 01:29 PM   #2
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,874
Take a look at this FAQ:
Unable to open SteamNew.exe for writing
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 02:25 PM   #3
emarshallp
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the reply. I updated and ran the two freeware spyware tools i use, updated and ran my antivirus tool, disabled my firewall, spyware tools, "tea timer", antivirus and whateverelse I could think of. I saw you make this same suggestion on another thread, but it doesn't seem to be my answer.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 04:07 PM   #4
emarshallp
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Is steam support existent yet slow or what?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 05:22 PM   #5
cryptodan
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 405
Posts: 7,625
Check your firewalls and the permissions on the folder your Steam is installed in.
cryptodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 07:42 PM   #6
emarshallp
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I've done that already, both Windows and my other app. Antivir also. Spyware tools also. All non windows apps also. Ugh.
What would change folder permissions? I have run steam on this machine for 2 years.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 07:54 PM   #7
cryptodan
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 405
Posts: 7,625
Try running Steam from Safemode with Networking.

What kind of spyware tools do you use?

Last edited by cryptodan: 03-26-2009 at 07:57 PM.
cryptodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:07 AM   #8
emarshallp
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I've done that also, with no luck. This is a very frustrating problem. I've posted a question at the support site, and have gotten very little feedback. I explored the full install download for this file (steamTmp.exe) and did not find it. Does anyone know where it is written to?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:05 AM   #9
cryptodan
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 405
Posts: 7,625
It is written in the root of the steam installation location. What security programs do you use?
cryptodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:30 AM   #10
emarshallp
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
xp's built in and Comodo firewalls. Windows Defender, Ad Aware, Spybot w/tea timer enabled, spyware blaster. AVG for antivirus.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:31 AM   #11
emarshallp
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for your help / interest btw.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:34 AM   #12
cryptodan
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 405
Posts: 7,625
Okay You need to pick a firewall to use and disable the other one, you need to remove spyware blaster, and adaware, and keep spybot, and dont use Windows Defender. Using multiple security products at once can cause a lot of issues such as yours.

I would disable Windows Firewall, remove Defender, Adaware, and Spyware Blaster, and I would keep the following: Comodo, Spybot, and AVG. Those should be all you need.
cryptodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 01:02 PM   #13
emarshallp
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I understand that similar apps. running at the same time can cause problems. I did not mean to imply that I do run these apps at the same time. Your advice is sound, but unfortunately does not help w/ my problem. I thought I had made some headway earlier today. I was in safe mode, and attempted to start steam several times (each ending at 26% and closing the update process) when finally after a short pause at 26% it proceeded normally to 100%. I thought "GREAT!!", but afterwards Steam did not start. After waiting for it to do so for a couple of minuets, I tried to start it manually w/ no luck. I turned off all MS services, reboot in norm. mode, still wouldn't start. ARGH!!. Clicking the executable in the root folder did nothing. Does not show up in the process tree.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 02:12 PM   #14
cryptodan
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 405
Posts: 7,625
Then you have a permissions issue.
cryptodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 03:09 PM   #15
emarshallp
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Na, checked that also. Full Control Allowed 'cross the board.

Last edited by emarshallp: 03-27-2009 at 08:30 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.