Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2009, 04:36 PM   #1
LetoZeth
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
Thumbs down Steam frozen~

My steam keeps freezing when i click anything at all on the Store page or update/news popup.

Works fine on "My Games" and everywhere else.

Whenever it freezes i have to kill the application with the task manager..

I'v tried reinstalling the application, which doesnt help at all.

It's not a problem with the account, since it happens on any account i use on this computer.

I dont have any other problems with other Games or Applications freezing/crashing.

Edit:
All this started happening after an update i got from steam, a while back~
LetoZeth is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 04:38 PM   #2
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,874
Make sure that Internet Explorer is fully updated and it's working properly.
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 04:41 PM   #3
LetoZeth
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
Internet Explorer is running Version 7, and works .. Like it should..
I dont see why that would be related in any way to steam freezing.

Problem remains.
LetoZeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 04:45 PM   #4
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by LetoZeth View Post
I dont see why that would be related in any way to steam freezing.

Problem remains.
Because Steam uses IE as a browser. Try to connect Store via of IE.
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 04:46 PM   #5
LetoZeth
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
Another reason to hate steam..
Appreciate the answer thou.
LetoZeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 06:29 AM   #6
LetoZeth
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
Connecting to the store through IE works just fine by the way.

Still no luck with Steam.
LetoZeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:08 AM   #7
LetoZeth
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
Oh well, guess i cant get anymore games for my steam account.
LetoZeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:27 AM   #8
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,874
How about cleanly reinstalling Steam?
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 03:45 PM   #9
LetoZeth
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
Yeah i tried that, didnt help..
It's something in the latest version of steam that does not work well with something else on my computer, obviously..

I dont know about any specific changes in the past few patches so..

The only thing i can think of is a complete reinstall of my entire system, but i cant afford to do that right now, too many projects going on that are just a mess to backup.
LetoZeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 03:50 PM   #10
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,874
Are you running any application from this list?
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 10:13 PM   #11
LetoZeth
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
Norton/Symantec Anti-virus 2009 (installed and running)
BitTorrent/UTorrent (not running but installed)
Daemon Tools (not running but installed)

I'v disabled NAV2009 and it still gives the same problems.
LetoZeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 01:41 AM   #12
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,874
How about restoring your system to previous state using system restore tool?
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 01:50 AM   #13
LetoZeth
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 79
Might as well do a clean format in that case..

But how about this..

Why wont valve~ just code thier own browser plugin for the steam application instead of using the crappy iexplorer plugin ocx~?

And googling a bit i found out that a lot of users around the world seems to have a lot of problems with this plugin, so perhaps it's not the best choice to use it?

--

If the only way for me to make Steam work correctly is a System restore or Format, then im not gonna use it anymore.

Thanks for your help anyways~
LetoZeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 02:03 AM   #14
AciD
 
AciD's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2007
Reputation: 2278
Posts: 13,874
Internet Explorer is installed on every PC and it's easily accessible.
Writing and switching to other browser would take many hours of work.

Lots of users? 500? It's nothing compared to number of users that are using Steam every day. Also, who says those problems are on Valve's end? Millions of users are using it without problems.
AciD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 07:58 AM   #15
cryptodan
 
Banned
Join Date: Feb 2007
Reputation: 405
Posts: 7,625
How about removing Symantec/Norton Anti-virus and pick virus scanners that actually work like AVG, Avast, NOD32, McAfee, and others.
cryptodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.