Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas

Closed Thread

Old 05-15-2009, 10:43 PM   #1
yharrothar

Steam needs Webkit

IE sucks. It's slow, and not crossplatform. Webkit (the same super fast engine that powers Chrome and Safari) is crossplatform and awesomely fast (if you've ever used Chrome or Safari you know how much faster is is compared to IE!), and it's not hard to implement: http://princeofcode.com/awesomium.php

I was able to create my own browser, complete with tabbed browsing, and all of the other basics you can expect from a browser using Awesomium in one night. I'm a newbie coder in comparison to people working for Valve, so in my opinion there's no reason why we can't get a better rendering engine for Steam very soon if we all support them making it better.

If you care about the future of making Steam crossplatform and way faster, support this thread.

Let's make it happen. Post in this thread, and tell people about it. Hopefully someone from Valve will get to reading it some time.

If you would like to demo what would happen if Steam moved to Webkit, go download the Chrome browser and browse around on steampowered.com, then go to Steam and do the same. IE is oh so very painful.

Bump this thread every once in a while if you care.

Last edited by DoubleD: 05-16-2009 at 06:44 AM. Reason: Hard to read

Old 05-15-2009, 10:53 PM   #2
pixelante15

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmccaskey
This comes up frequently, so I'll address it again.

First, we use IE today because it's available by default on all Windows installs and it's relatively easy to embed. There are no major problems with it when used inside the Steam client, but there are some limitations it imposes on us when used inside our game engines or inside the in-game Steam overlay.