Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Plants vs. Zombies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2009, 06:58 PM   #1
Synboi
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 49
Can't start up Plants vs Zombies

I keep getting this error when ever I start it up. The window starts up but it is just a black screen and I get this error.
http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/4...vrszombies.jpg

I've tried reinstalling but it doesn't help :S. I'm running an Acer Aspire 5920 laptop and Vista and all my other games work.
Synboi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2009, 11:58 AM   #2
tsemple
 
tsemple's Avatar
 
Popcap Games, Inc.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 6
Posts: 26
It looks like the game is loading the wrong version of bass.dll. Maybe a different version of bass.dll is in your path?
tsemple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 08:40 AM   #3
dabman
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Did anyone find a solution to this? There seems to be a lot of talk about Asus Xonar soundcards, but I am getting this error and have an X-Fi.

Currently awaiting some kind of reply from both Popcap and Valve.

Anyone any ideas?

B

P.S. I've reinstalled both Steam and PvZ and run Steam as an administrator, but not change.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 08:07 AM   #4
dabman
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Problem resolved for me.

For those without Xenor cards, this error can still occur. It's actually nothing to do with the soundcard in this case, but an incorrectly directed base.dll file.

To resolve this, search your system for base.dll and identify multiple copies. The file is inherantly the same save the version. Once you locate duplicate base.dll files, copy-replace the popcap version over the others. Your game should now load.

In short, if you have this problem without a Xonar card, it is because your system is using another version of the base.dll file instead of the popcap one. Replacing the incorrect base.dll files will let your game run without compromising other files.

For the record, I found two on my system under:

C:\Windows\System32
C:\Program Files\Vista Codec Pack.

I suggest you check one or both dirs first.

B
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 06:30 AM   #5
Synboi
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 49
I already found the solution, all you have to do is change the PvrZ compatability mode thing to xp and it seems to work.
Synboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 12:36 PM   #6
zigote
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 3
Posts: 166
I'm getting the same error.
Synboi, How do you change the PvrZ compatibility mode thing to xp?
--EDIT
Never-mind I deleted the bass.dll from the system32, works great now.

Last edited by zigote: 12-20-2009 at 12:56 PM.
zigote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 03:49 PM   #7
IIcrazychickenI
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 34
Posts: 441
tx guys, i had same error, changing compatability to xp worked for me too
IIcrazychickenI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 04:58 PM   #8
Wise
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 41
i have the same prob but when i try to change it to xp it says unable to find steam.dll
Wise is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Plants vs. Zombies


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.