Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Crysis series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2009, 07:33 AM   #1
wv1973
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Question crysis + Windows 7 = crash everytime i make change in options

After upgrading to windows 7 I loaded steam crysis. The first thing I then do is adjust settings.

,when I change the screen resolution I click on save changes and the game hanges for a few seconds, then I crash to desktop.

At least when I load the game back up the graphic settings stick. Now I go and change the ingame key bindings, here everytime I click save boom crash to desktop.

I'm running a intel e3500 with 8 gigs of ram and a ATI 8750 with 1 gig on the graphics card. I've loaded the latest ati drivers as of yesterday, am I'm not sure what else to do. I'm seeing that others are running crysis and other steam games just fine on windows 7

With the exact same PC running XP pro X86 the game runs smooth as butter.

Any help and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 08:31 AM   #2
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10201
Posts: 46,430
Make sure you have the latest DirectX downloaded from Microsoft:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...DisplayLang=en
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 04:35 PM   #3
purplenurple
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
will this make steam games run better? like tf2 and css?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 07:29 PM   #4
gabosgab
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I updated DirectX on my Windows 7 x64 installation and I'm still having the same problem. It starts in a window and making any settings changes causes it to crash.

DxDiag Dump
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 6/3/2009, 19:27:36
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7100) (7100.winmain_win7rc.090421-1700)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: INTEL_
System Model: XXXXXXXXXX
BIOS: Default System BIOS
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @ 2.13GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.1GHz
Memory: 3072MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 3070MB RAM
Page File: 1691MB used, 4446MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7100.0000 64bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
Display Tab 1: No problems found.
Display Tab 2: No problems found.
Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
Input Tab: No problems found.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 08:07 PM   #5
gabosgab
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Reboot fixed the issue, works great!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 10:37 AM   #6
Hoffer
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 19
I have been having the same problems. I try to change setting and Crysis crashes.

All you did was reboot and that fixed it? Did you install the DX update first?
Hoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 01:53 PM   #7
Swat1Cat
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 137
Could be a compatibility issue?
Swat1Cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 12:56 PM   #8
ubersquiz
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Reputation: 8
Posts: 48
I cannot for the life of me understand why someone would not get the fact that windows 7 is BETA i'll repeat that in case you missed it BETA. And then wonder why they have issues ?
It's not even a fully complete operating system yet and expecting everything to run with no issues is so ridiculously stupid it hurts.

Go back to XP or god forbid Vista, and then ask for assistance when it doesnt work.
ubersquiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 09:50 AM   #9
soapyluggage
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 9
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubersquiz View Post
I cannot for the life of me understand why someone would not get the fact that windows 7 is BETA i'll repeat that in case you missed it BETA. And then wonder why they have issues ?
It's not even a fully complete operating system yet and expecting everything to run with no issues is so ridiculously stupid it hurts.

Go back to XP or god forbid Vista, and then ask for assistance when it doesnt work.

Repeat it all you want; it won't make it true. Windows 7 has been out of beta for a couple months. Build 7100 is the release candidate, AKA MS saying "Hey we think this is what we're going to print on the discs we sell people." Windows 7 was released to manufacturers (like Dell and Gateway) earlier this month so they could put it on the new Windows 7 machines they sell.

Anyway, I'm having the same problem. Downloading Direct X and rebooting has done nothing to fix the issue.

Edit: I fixed it. Steam/steamapps/common/crysis/Bin32 - right click crysis.exe and set to run in compatibility mode for Vista SP2, then right click and run as administrator.

Last edited by soapyluggage: 06-27-2009 at 09:59 AM.
soapyluggage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 02:51 PM   #10
Ken Adams NSA
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
It seems to happen to me too. The Vista SP2 fix worked only temporarily. :/
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 12:42 AM   #11
FuLLBLeeD
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
This is happening to me too. Does running it in compatibility mode not fix it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 10:22 AM   #12
morfumax
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 347
having none of these problems.
morfumax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 11:10 AM   #13
MADDOGGE
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 10543
Posts: 25,909
Runs fine for me on win7 64. I'm running retail on it though. Warhead runs in my Steam accout though and it runs fine also.

Crysis game has for me always ran weird. It has never started in full screen after an install. I always have to go set that manually and it will sometimes crash after doing so. Also I would have to reset the full screen many times when starting to play session. I figure its a coding issue somewhere. Once I set it for each play it runs fine.
MADDOGGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 11:45 AM   #14
The Fortune
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 21
Posts: 646
I'm getting these problems too, it seems rebooting will work for a while and I can still play the game and everything is fine, it's just annoying.
The Fortune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 07:57 PM   #15
patro
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Just like in your Crysis problems, my DoD:S crashes too when I make changes to options. Any options! I can make a minute keyboard remap adjustment, adjust my mouse sensitivity, increase or decrease volumes under the VOICE tab or anything else for that matter. Then when I go hit APPLY or OK, freezes for 10 seconds then crashes to desktop with "hl2 has stopped working". Looked to me like it was pointing towards the ntdll.dll file, but I don't know for sure.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Crysis series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.