Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Deus Ex series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2009, 10:40 PM   #1
AgentofEvil
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 10
Easy way to get Deus Ex & Invisible War running on Vista/Multicore CPUs!

So I got the bug to play these great games again, and of course having a multi-core cpu ran into the same issues that have been reported over and over on this board. None of the fixes were satisfactory, so I went out to the rest of the internet to find an easier or more permanent solution.

Anyhow I found this little app from Tom's Hardware Guide that works perfectly. It's called the THG Task Assignment Manager. It can be found/downloaded here: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...-buck,815.html

Once you download it, setup is very simple:
  1. Run the THG Task Assignment Manager
  2. Click on the "Application Profiles" tab
  3. Click the "Browse" button. When the dialog box appears, browse to wherever DX/DXIW executables are installed (mine were located in c:\Program Files(x86)\Steam\SteamApps\Common\deus ex\System\ and c:\Program Files(x86)\Steam\SteamApps\Common\deus ex invisible war\System\ respectively)
  4. choose one of the executables and click "open". Then click "Add"
  5. When the "Set Affinity" dialog box comes up, choose "CPU 0" and click the "OK" button.
  6. Repeat steps 1-5 for all of the remaining executables

That's it! Now, as long as you make sure THG Task Assignment Manager is running before you launch either game, they should launch without any problems.
AgentofEvil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 12:13 AM   #2
sanmadjack
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 16
Just an additional note: On my AMDX2 system I solved the dual-core problem by installing AMD's dual-core optimizer software. Invisible War stopped giving me any trouble after that, and Deus Ex settled it's game speed down to normal.
sanmadjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 12:17 AM   #3
The Banana King
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 247
Posts: 1,196
I'd like a deus ex. I'd settle for a morningus ex.

*remembers pre-offspring existence*

*sighs*
The Banana King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 11:46 PM   #4
ZeroSignal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Reputation: 92
Posts: 1,590
I prefer patching my executable with imagecfg.

So for example, I want to patch deus ex with it so that I NEVER have to leave some program running, just start the game be done with it.

imagecfg -a 0x1 c:\path\to\DeusEx.exe

More information: http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=187768
ZeroSignal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 08:11 PM   #5
McBlasterson
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 15
Posts: 262
I run Deus Ex on my AMDx2 and it runs fine while pulling from both cores. (although im on XP, and i have it on a disc if that matters?) I used the dual core optimizer a while back also. The only problem i ran into was that the game seemed to skip/stutter while walking. This is fixed by using vertical sync. Also the game cleans up really nice by forcing AA and AF (and a bunch of other fun stuff) in your graphics card control panel.
McBlasterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 02:06 AM   #6
marlena
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentofEvil View Post
So I got the bug to play these great games again, and of course having a multi-core cpu ran cialis 20mg into the same issues that have been reported over and over on this board. None of the fixes were satisfactory, so I went out to the generic ed trial pack rest of the internet to find an easier or more permanent solution.

Anyhow I found this little app from Tom's Hardware Guide that works perfectly. It's called the THG Task Assignment Manager. It can be found/downloaded here: http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...-buck,815.html

Once you download it, setup is very simple:
  1. Run the THG Task Assignment Manager
  2. Click on the "Application Profiles" tab
  3. Click the "Browse" button. When the dialog box appears, browse to wherever DX/DXIW executables are installed (mine were located in c:\Program Files(x86)\Steam\SteamApps\Common\deus ex\System\ and c:\Program Files(x86)\Steam\SteamApps\Common\deus ex invisible war\System\ respectively)
  4. choose one of the executables and click "open". Then click "Add"
  5. When the "Set Affinity" dialog box comes up, choose "CPU 0" and click the "OK" button.
  6. Repeat steps 1-5 for all of the remaining executables

That's it! Now, as long as you make sure THG Task Assignment Manager is running before you launch either game, they should launch without any problems.
When I trying to setup it i got an error. Does it's works on Vista?

Last edited by marlena: 04-25-2010 at 05:06 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 05:49 AM   #7
neuromancer
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 341
Posts: 2,631
Even easier way is to just use DXTool
neuromancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 07:28 AM   #8
stinkfinger
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 523
Posts: 601
That's too bad... I am running dual cores 1.87 gigahertz w/ 3 gig ram, on vista 32 w/ 8600 gtx and have had zero problems.

Let's hope it stays that way.
stinkfinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 12:19 AM   #9
Psychor
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Reputation: 0
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuromancer View Post
Even easier way is to just use DXTool
Great fix. Thanks.
Psychor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Deus Ex series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.