Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2009, 05:40 AM   #1
Trandom Kaggus
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 37
Posts: 199
SMD to MDL files

I just don't get it.

Using Google Sketchup to make models for my L4D map. That's all well and good, and I can export the models to "SMD" files... but how the hell do I get it from that to an MDL that Hammer can use?! Every documentation I can find just says "it can then be compiled or 'baked' into an MDL" - yeah okay, how?

So I feel kinda stupid, help would be appreciated.
Trandom Kaggus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 06:30 AM   #2
cfoust
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 172
Posts: 1,143
http://developer.valvesoftware.com/w...piling_a_model

Short answer: use studiomdl.exe, which is included in the SDK. A .qc script is used to control what studiomdl does. It looks complicated, but just take it step-by-step.
cfoust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 09:06 AM   #3
dreambill
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
the problem is the skin, the sketchup pluging do not export any skin, if you want it skinned, you have to import your smd into a 3D modelling software to skin it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 12:31 AM   #4
wonderboy2402
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 58
Posts: 1,058
Can you elaborate on this further? I am having the same problem and I am totally new to this. I read the faq you linked and I am still baffled...

I have to somehow edit the .SMD model in notepad to make a .qc?

Where exactly is the studiomdl.exe? (working within the l4d SDK)

Is there any easier way then the way provided in that link? Is there a newbie guide somewhere out there?
wonderboy2402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 01:38 AM   #5
Broth3rz
 
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 8
Posts: 55
It took me forever to learn to get models into game from 3DS/Maya. I'd say getting models into the HL2 engine is harder then learning C++, and more stressful. I had to literally search on google for hours and hours reading, and it still didn't work right.

The only way I can get it to work is export my model as a .SMD and .OBJ, take 1 .SMD file from the SMD export. Then take the .OBJ and convert it to SMD. And take 1 file from that, because apparently when I would export to .SMD from Maya, one of the SMD files would be corrupted. So I take one from each. Then compile to .MDL.

Get a .SMD exporter for whatever modeling program you're using. Then make a .QC file. Then download GUIStudioMDL, load the .QC file in it. make sure paths are right. Compile.

That's at least what I do and it works.

If you still can't get it, let me know and I'll tell you step by step how to do it with my .QC file and such. Just let me know if you need me to and what modeling program you're using.

Last edited by Broth3rz: 06-29-2009 at 01:42 AM.
Broth3rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 11:21 AM   #6
cfoust
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 172
Posts: 1,143
Open notepad and paste this in. Replace everything in quotes with your own paths. Save it a new file with the extension .qc

Code:
//folder where the smd files are stored
$cd		"C:\Valve\Steam\SteamApps\yourusername\sourcesdk_content\hl2\modelsrc\etc"

//The finished model will be stored here
$modelname	"props_sdk\myfirstmodel.mdl"

//The name of the reference smd file
$body mybody	"myfirstmodel-ref.smd"

//Collapses any bones in the model. To use the model as a prop_static, this is required
$staticprop

//What the prop is made of. Controls bullet holes, footsteps, etc.
//See http://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Material_surface_properties
$surfaceprop	combine_metal

//vmt files for the skin go in this folder, under materials\.
//If you have skins in multiple folders, you can use this more than once.
$cdmaterials	"models\props_sdk"

//You need at least one animation. You can just use the same smd as above.
$sequence idle	"myfirstmodel-idle.smd"

//You can use the same smd as before, but usually you will want a seperate
//smd for collisions.
$collisionmodel	"myfirstmodel-phys.smd" {
    $concave
    $automass
 }
Then find studiomdl.exe. It can be found in
\sourcesdk\bin\ep1\bin
or
\sourcesdk\bin\orangebox\bin

Drag the qc file onto studiomdl.exe. A command window will pop up, do some stuff, and disappear. If all went well, you have a static prop suitable for use in a map.
cfoust is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Tool Discussions > Source Level Design


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.