Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dig, The

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2009, 05:00 PM   #1
NoRCoN
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 587
Posts: 1,611
Running In Fullscreen Tutorial

THIS

OLD
Just for those that want to know how to get the game to fullscreen.
Alt+Enter should get the job done.
-Works in 7, Vista, and XP.
-You can change the registry values discussed below by right-clicking on the title bar when the game is in windowed mode (thanks, wingers17 and William Shatner)
http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/2305/16279507.jpg thanks, Cedge
You can also pass through "-fullscreen" without the quotes in the launch options for the game.Before you do the registry editing. Make sure you have launched the game at least once.

If you wish to hard code in the resolution values, you may do so in the Windows Registry. As with any other editing of the registry, make a backup first. Also, you edit the registry at your own risk.
1) Push Win+R
2) Type "regedit" without the quotes and press "Ok"
3) Navigate to this path: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\LucasArts\The Dig
4) To enable persistent fullscreen between game restarts
  • Right-click on "WindowFullScreen" and click "Modify"
  • Click the "Decimal" radio button
  • Change the value to 1 and press "Ok"
  • The game should now run in fullscreen every time.
This will allow you to run the game in fullscreen mode. However, notice the black bars to the left and right when you have the game in fullscreen mode? We can fix that too.
1) Go back to the same path in the registry (steps 1 through 3 above)
2) Change the values for "FixAspctRatio" and "FixAspectRatio" to 0.
3) Change the value for "WindowFullScreen" to 1.
4) Change the value for "WindowHeight" to whatever you want it to be (make sure to press the "Decimal" radio button before entering the value).
5) Change the value for "WindowWidth" to whatever you want it to be (make sure to press the "Decimal" radio button before entering the value).
  • ex: My WindowHeight=1050 and my WindowWidth=1680
No more black bars!

You can also change the value of "SmoothGraphics" to 0 if you want to go for a more nostalgic feel.

Note: you can always get it back to windowed mode by using the Alt+Enter trick.

This is the same for Loom as well. It should also work for any other LucasArts game that runs the same way LOOM and The Dig do.

Last edited by NoRCoN: 07-09-2009 at 08:16 PM.
NoRCoN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 05:05 PM   #2
jsdratm
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Reputation: 16
Posts: 670
It works in XP too
jsdratm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 05:06 PM   This is the last staff post in this thread.   #3
JustinL
 
JustinL's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 3001
Posts: 3,323
The configuration settings are stored in the Windows Registry as well.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\LucasArts\The Dig

As you said, Alt+Enter should do the trick for full screen mode.

You can even disable the graphics smoothing if you want to maintain purity.

Last edited by JustinL: 07-08-2009 at 05:09 PM.
JustinL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 05:07 PM   #4
NoRCoN
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 587
Posts: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsdratm View Post
It works in XP too
Thanks for the clarification. I figured it was a feature of the application.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlesamiz View Post
The configuration settings are stored in the Windows Registry as well.

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\LucasArts\The Dig

As you said, Alt+Enter should do the trick for full screen mode.
Thanks for the heads up! Didn't even think to check the registry. /facepalm

Last edited by NoRCoN: 07-08-2009 at 05:10 PM.
NoRCoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:23 PM   #5
wingers17
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 194
Posts: 977
Why don't you just Alt+Enter, Then right click the title bar and select all of these options from the menu?
wingers17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:37 PM   #6
NoRCoN
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 587
Posts: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingers17 View Post
Why don't you just Alt+Enter, Then right click the title bar and select all of these options from the menu?
:P Got me on both threads.
NoRCoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 06:38 PM   #7
wingers17
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 194
Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoRCoN View Post
:P Got me on both threads.
Great idea though! It took me awhile to discover that...
wingers17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 07:03 PM   #8
ImBroken3A
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 19
The smoothing really does a nice job on a large monitor.
ImBroken3A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 09:22 PM   #9
Vegan
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Reputation: 8
Posts: 110
Aren't the black bars to preserve the aspect ratio, and disabling them is stretching the image?
Vegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 10:43 PM   #10
NoRCoN
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 587
Posts: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegan View Post
Aren't the black bars to preserve the aspect ratio, and disabling them is stretching the image?
That is exactly what they are for. I didn't notice any dramatic change when not preserving aspect ratio, however.
NoRCoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 07:43 PM   #11
zukeft
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
There's also a bit more information from one of LucasArts' developers here: http://www.aarongiles.com/scumm/index.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:15 PM   #12
NoRCoN
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 587
Posts: 1,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by zukeft View Post
There's also a bit more information from one of LucasArts' developers here: http://www.aarongiles.com/scumm/index.html
Thanks for this.
NoRCoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 12:32 AM   #13
Psamathos
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Reputation: 48
Posts: 707
Ah, thanks. It's much better without that ugly smoothing.
Psamathos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 02:45 PM   #14
Namssorg
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Anyone know if it is possible to change the resolution in WINDOWED mode? I am playing on a tablet pc and kind of need to use an on-screen keyboard from time to time (to save, etc) and can't ALT-ENTER to get out of Full-screen mode, so I have to play in a window. I just wish the window was a lot bigger (or even a 'full screen' window would help)
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 11:16 AM   #15
Procyon
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Reputation: 23
Posts: 134
I added the -fullscreen in the launch options, but I didn't liked how it looked in fullscreen...

The problem is that I can't revert to normal screen now, even if I delete the -fullscreen command! I'm using windows 7.

NEVERMIND: just used alt + enter to switch

Last edited by Procyon: 07-05-2010 at 11:20 AM.
Procyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > D - G > Dig, The


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.