Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Star Wars collection > Star Wars Republic Commando

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2009, 03:11 PM   #1
drocksizzle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Game Not Working

When i launch the game from steam, the logo comes up, but then nothing. The logo stays for forever but nothing happens after that. Anyone else have this problem, or any clues how to fix it? I have done everything i know, disabling most features on my video card, updating the drivers, updating Direct X. Im lost. Any help would be great. Thanks
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 06:19 PM   #2
arramus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 40
Posts: 214
Just for a little more expansion on the issue, can you let us know your PC specifications please?
arramus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 12:48 AM   #3
drocksizzle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Im running:

Pentium 4 2.8Ghz
3gigs ram
PNY Geforce 7600GS 512mb AGP: current drivers are 190.38

Windows XP Pro 32bit Service Pack 3
Direct X 9.0c

Anything else you need?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 07:27 AM   #4
arramus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 40
Posts: 214
Your specs are fine. In fact, it's better to have the generation of graphics card you have as the game looks better for it.

See if checking your file integrity fixes this issue. In STEAM, right click on SWRC and go to properties, select 'Local files' and 'verify integrity of game cache'.
arramus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 03:56 PM   #5
drocksizzle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thank You. I have already done this before. I have also reinstalled the game twice, still no dice.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 05:11 PM   #6
arramus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 40
Posts: 214
Can you try an archaic driver for your AGP just to rule out one more thing? Something like this for example...
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_91.47.html

Here's the main list.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp-2k_archive.html
arramus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 05:54 PM   #7
drocksizzle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Uninstalled current drivers and installed the 91.47 drivers. Still nothing, same exact problem. Uninstalled old drivers and put back current drivers, nothing new.

Frustrating!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 06:33 PM   #8
arramus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 40
Posts: 214
Can you locate your C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\star wars republic commando\GameData\Movies folder and place 'lecintro' and 'nvidiaintro' in a backup folder and see if you can start? These are the startup videos for LucasArts and Nividia.
arramus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 08:43 PM   #9
drocksizzle
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I read that solution in another forum too. It didnt work. I am getting to the point where i will just reformat my drive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 12:40 AM   #10
arramus
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 40
Posts: 214
Can you just try one more if you haven't already?

In the SWRC launch area force a start with a lower dx version

Code:
-dxlevel 80
Maybe we'll hear about the reformat results in due course...
arramus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 11:44 AM   #11
doctorrockzo
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
So I am in a similar situation. The game keeps crashing at start, just as the logo comes up. I tried changing the bumpmapping in my system.ini with no luck. I also tried the -dxlevel 80 trick but that didnt work either. I'm running it on a dell inspiron 6400, intel core 2 at 1.66ghz(?), mobile ati x1400 running omega drivers 3.8.442, 2 gigs of ram, directx 9.0c, windows xp pro.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 02:49 AM   #12
Jigahaganaga
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 11
I to am in this situation and am looking for a solution if one is availible.
Jigahaganaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 04:58 AM   #13
Kratier
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Reputation: 10
Posts: 219
im not an idiot and ive played games for a long time,

usually when it crashes to desktop once the intro movies are done playing, its a software issue, generally either sound/video drivers. If those don't work, then its some sort of software required to install , that steam did not include in installation such as video player software for ingame movies.

did you bother to google and see if people are having same issues?
Kratier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 05:27 PM   #14
lynannoulih
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 31
Talking

Done some research tonight and I found the solution.

Nvidia already solved the bumpmapping problem some time ago.

The problem now, is about resolution and bink (or another video codec).

My solution ?

You go to C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\star wars republic commando\GameData\System

find system.ini

In this file search for : StartupFullscreen=True
And make it look like StartupFullscreen=False

Its related to [WinDrv.WindowsClient]

Like that you're going to start windowed. Hit the maximize button on the upper right hand corner and enjoy.

I think it's all about the two video of presentation for nvidia and lucasarts....
lynannoulih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 02:30 PM   #15
ski0skate
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Okay yeah I had this problem I had service pack 3 as well all I did was uninstall service pack 3 so I had service pack 2 try it you can always re-install the service pack 3 hope this helped.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Star Wars collection > Star Wars Republic Commando


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.