Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Aion

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2009, 01:11 PM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #1
BurtonJ
 
BurtonJ's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 10615
Posts: 9,005
How do I get the Steam Overlay to work in Aion?

I created this convenient YouTube video tutorial on how to enable the Steam Overlay in Aion. However, it looks like the video capture tool isn't able to capture the ingame video resulting in the end of the video being nothing but a black screen.

(1) Right-click on NCsoft Launcher shortcut and select Properties
(2) Highlight everything between the quotation marks in the Target: box, right-click and select copy
(3) In Steam, click Games and select Add a non-Steam game to My Games list...
(4) Click Browse
(5) Right-click in the box next to File Name: and press ctrl+v to paste the target you copied in step 2
(6) Click Open
(7) Click Add selected programs
(8) Launch the NCsoft Launcher through Steam and the overlay should now work when you launch Aion.

Aion: The Tower of Eternity FAQ

NOTE:
This is only confirmed to work on Vista x64.
BurtonJ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 01:42 PM   #2
Korialstrasz
 
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 50
Posts: 527
+1

10char
Korialstrasz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 09:59 PM   #3
BurningTofu
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 14
Posts: 212
This is for 64bit only or will it work for vist/xp 32?
BurningTofu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 10:28 PM   #4
Lady Murasaki
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 96
Posts: 149
No, this method did not work with my home Vista/XP 32.

Candy for whoever figures it out first.
Lady Murasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 07:58 PM   #5
Chudz
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I would love to be able to do this Im on Windows 7 x64 so I will comfirm if I can get it working.

Cant seem to get it working at the moment

Last edited by Chudz: 08-30-2009 at 08:39 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 12:10 AM   #6
Benedict9999
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 15
Posts: 317
how about the people who bought the game straight from steam?
Benedict9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 11:47 AM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #7
BurtonJ
 
BurtonJ's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 10615
Posts: 9,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benedict9999 View Post
how about the people who bought the game straight from steam?
The way that Aion is required to launch from Steam, the overlay is not able to hook into it.

Currently, the only way to get the Overlay working is with the work around I posted in my first post.
BurtonJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 12:19 PM   #8
Froggie567
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 1
Posts: 58
Awesom! thanks for this
Is there a way so on the friend list it says something like "Aion" rather than "non-steam game"?

Last edited by Froggie567: 08-31-2009 at 12:34 PM.
Froggie567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 01:53 PM   #9
Staig
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 33
All this seems to do is create a shortcut to the NC Launcher from Steam, I can confirm this worked for me; Vista 32.

I downloaded the version of the game from gamershell, however this did not install in my steam path obviously. If I want the game to work with steam should I download/install the game through steam?
Staig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 01:57 PM   #10
Larry1212
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Reputation: 2616
Posts: 3,597
Hehe, Burton... Sorry to post here but could you answer my question here: http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=953146? It's a totally different game but i'd love an answer asap as i'm considering purchasing it now.

Sorry again! :3 Please delete this post when you read it! ^_^
Larry1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 03:04 PM   Click here to go to the next staff post in this thread.   #11
BurtonJ
 
BurtonJ's Avatar
 
Valve
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 10615
Posts: 9,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1212 View Post
Hehe, Burton... Sorry to post here but could you answer my question here: http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=953146? It's a totally different game but i'd love an answer asap as i'm considering purchasing it now.

Sorry again! :3 Please delete this post when you read it! ^_^
I'm sorry but I don't know the answer to your question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staig View Post
All this seems to do is create a shortcut to the NC Launcher from Steam
Correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staig View Post
I can confirm this worked for me; Vista 32.
Glad to hear that you got it working on Vista32

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staig View Post
I downloaded the version of the game from gamershell, however this did not install in my steam path obviously. If I want the game to work with steam should I download/install the game through steam?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Froggie567 View Post
Awesom! thanks for this
Is there a way so on the friend list it says something like "Aion" rather than "non-steam game"?
Launching the game via this method will always display "non-steam game." However, you can edit the program name to show "Aion" instead of "NCsoft Launcher."

(1) Right-click on "NCsoft Launcher" in your My Games tab and select "Properties"
(2) In the top box, erase what is in there and replace it with "Aion" or whatever you want it to display
(3) Click "close"
BurtonJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 09:30 AM   #12
Speedstars
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwoodx View Post
I'm amazed you guys would pay real money for all this hassle.

Why do players/customers have to come up with work-arounds in order to enjoy a retail product? /boggle

They can thank GameGuard for the millions they will lose because Aion won't work with vista 32.
thank you very much for your helpful comments regarding steam overlay in this thread.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 12:25 PM   #13
johnlucas69
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I have just pre ordered this off steam and it is currently downloading. I know this doesn't release till the 25th but do i have to follow step 1 on this topic and/or what else. I already have an account at NC.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 12:51 PM   #14
Lady Murasaki
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 96
Posts: 149
We're talking about how to enable the Steam Overlay in game in this thread.

For general information on how to attach your key to your existing NCSoft account, please go here
Lady Murasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 04:08 PM   #15
Tent
 
 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 12
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurtonJ View Post
I created this convenient YouTube video tutorial on how to enable the Steam Overlay in Aion. However, it looks like the video capture tool isn't able to capture the ingame video resulting in the end of the video being nothing but a black screen.

(1) Right-click on NCsoft Launcher shortcut and select Properties
(2) Highlight everything between the quotation marks in the Target: box, right-click and select copy
(3) In Steam, click Games and select Add a non-Steam game to My Games list...
(4) Click Browse
(5) Right-click in the box next to File Name: and press ctrl+v to paste the target you copied in step 2
(6) Click Open
(7) Click Add selected programs
(8) Launch the NCsoft Launcher through Steam and the overlay should now work when you launch Aion.

Aion: The Tower of Eternity FAQ

NOTE:
This is only confirmed to work on Vista x64.
Link to

"C:\Program Files (x86)\NCSoft\Launcher\NCLauncher.exe" /LaunchGame=Aion

to start Aion instead of just the launcher (note, it still starts the launcher and will do the proper update procedure).
Tent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Aion


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.