Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2009, 10:10 AM   #1
Sajdood
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
If I got a new CPU and graphics card..

Would my system performance increase ALOT?

at the momennttt:

CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3ghz (Change to Intel Core 2 Duo E8400)
Graphics Card: nVidia 7300 GT (Change to nvidia 9800 GT 1GB)
Motherboard: Biostar P4M900 Micro 775 (Not changing)
RAM: 2GB
OS: WIndows xp 32 bit
Monitor: 15"
Would it be worth it if I changed the cpu and gfx?

Also, which would you buy first if you had little money, the cpu or the graphics card?

Thanks.

Last edited by Sajdood: 09-20-2009 at 10:26 AM.
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:15 AM   #2
Rillow
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 192
Sure you'd get a performance increase! You might get more bang for your buck if you picked up a 4850 instead. It also depends on your monitors resolution... It wouldn't hurt to go for some more RAM in the long run provided you have a 64 bit OS.
Rillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:19 AM   #3
DARKNIGHT
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Reputation: 2096
Posts: 5,258
Thats such an upgrade, you will be blown away.

Just one thing you really need to make sure, can your motherboard handle the E8400, in other word does the Bios support that cpu?
Theres a world of difference between a p4 and a core 2 cpu and you may need to update the motherboards bios in order to get the e8400 working, especially if the mobo is as old as the p4.
DARKNIGHT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:23 AM   #4
Sajdood
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Ah, my OS is Windows XP 32-bit.

Also, it says in the specification of the mobo that it can handle core 2 duo processors. I'd just get my dads friend to set it up i the Bios or whatever that is XD

Also, my monitor is 15" wide. Holy..I only just realised I've got a really tiny monitor :\
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:36 AM   #5
Rillow
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 192
You could probably get a bigger monitor if your getting a 1GB card, otherwise your just spending money for extra memory you don't need.
Rillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 11:22 AM   #6
Baron_Fel
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Reputation: 1931
Posts: 8,822
Are you sure your mobo supports the E8400?
Baron_Fel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 12:33 PM   #7
lhwj
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Reputation: 829
Posts: 4,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron_Fel View Post
Are you sure your mobo supports the E8400?
No way! Pentium 4 to 65 nm Core 2 Duo is already a huge jump, let alone a 45 nm Core 2 Duo. http://www.biostar-usa.com/cpusuppor...%20MICRO%20775

Luke
lhwj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 12:49 PM   #8
rotNdude
 
rotNdude's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Reputation: 10750
Posts: 46,730
It won't support the E8400:

http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en/mb/...rt.php?S_ID=99
rotNdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 01:34 PM   #9
enggmaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Reputation: 742
Posts: 8,464
He's better off buying a whole new system.

I advise getting 4GB ram as well, too many people here are saying, no no, 2GB's fine, but look what's happening now.
enggmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 06:55 PM   #10
DARKNIGHT
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Reputation: 2096
Posts: 5,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by enggmaster View Post
He's better off buying a whole new system.

I advise getting 4GB ram as well, too many people here are saying, no no, 2GB's fine, but look what's happening now.
Have to agree, 2gb seems a bit yesterday now.

As for the updgrade, he could go with a upgrade set (mobo+cpu+ram) and a video card, but we need to know his budget.
DARKNIGHT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:12 PM   #11
Baron_Fel
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Reputation: 1931
Posts: 8,822
Alt tabbing in and out of games with 2GB takes ages, its pretty much unusable.
Baron_Fel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 02:16 PM   #12
Sajdood
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the reply guys.

Dang, I'm not really a techie but I always thought my motherbaord would be compatible with a core 2 duo

Also, if you want to know my budget, it's around £0-300 or $500 but erm if you can keep it as low as possible that'd be great. I'm 16 so I can't really fork out $500 really easily. Would prefer it if it was 300-400 dollars.

Alt tabbing in and out of games for me takes like 6 seconds
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 03:00 PM   #13
pizzahut
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Reputation: 1171
Posts: 4,737
According to the website which rotNdude posted, you can put in a Core 2 Duo E6700.

Edit: Hint from the mainboard manufacturer's website:
Quote:
If you plan to upgrade processor from your existing unit, please update bios first before changing or upgrading processors.

Last edited by pizzahut: 09-27-2009 at 05:07 AM.
pizzahut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 03:10 PM   #14
DARKNIGHT
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Reputation: 2096
Posts: 5,258
Intel based

Mobo: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=5&subcat=1495

CPU: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=6&subcat=1272

Memory: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=8&subcat=1387

Video Card: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=56&subcat=927

Total £451.96 including tax.

AMD:

Mobo: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=MB-335-AS

CPU: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=CP-238-AM

Memory: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=MY-041-GS

Video card: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...odid=GX-213-AS

Total: £383.96 including tax

Amd is certainly cheaper, i could go build a socket 775 intel based setup, but that socket is slowly dying, the i5 is the better option if you want to go with intel. Also ive picked somewhat high end hardware, it will last quite a while.

This is just a price estimate, not sure where you will buy your stuff, but overclockers is pretty good.
DARKNIGHT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 05:38 PM   #15
Cloud*7
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Reputation: 8
Posts: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by DARKNIGHT View Post
Thats such an upgrade, you will be blown away.
what he said.
Cloud*7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Hardware and Operating Systems


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.