Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2011, 03:28 PM   #121
edsurly
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by edsurly View Post
I just (last week) built a new gaming machine. I put in the largest SSD I could afford, 64 gig, I came here to steam.....finished installing TF2, Civ V and now what? I can't tell steam where I want to install a new purchase...Oblivion....so no sale Steam. Tough , I'm downloading it from Direct2Drive, you lose. This has been a wanted addition (not a feature...a needed addition) for well over a year now. I wonder how many purchases Steam has lost to their compitors because of this? Seems like the management at Steam (or whom ever would make these decisions) are about as clueless as the managment types at my work. i.e. Think of the pointy haired boss from Dilbertt. Yea, smooth move Steam. Drect2Drive just garnered all my purchases until this overlooked addition is added.
Well it seems Direct2Drive lost as well, they don't have it! lol Got it Oblivion GOTY Deluxe from Impulse. WOOT!
edsurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 11:55 PM   #122
Alchemistmerlin
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
SO I'm throwing in my hat for support of this idea, since I currently don't have enough room to install the Steam versions of Crysis 1 and 2 left on the partition Steam is on.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 06:39 PM   #123
jetah
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 7
Posts: 86
I have a 250g SSD and i do support this idea. i have already made many links from steam/OS to my 2nd drive.
jetah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 06:26 PM   #124
djuara
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Reputation: 25
Posts: 386
I have 1 TB HDD and fill 80% of it with Steam games so I wish Steam support multiple drive, too. I can add at 2 TB HDD and move Steam there, but then it'll be fill up in one or two Steam holiday sale later.
djuara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 06:46 PM   #125
flashn00b
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Reputation: 470
Posts: 5,461
I don't know about anyone else, but i prefer having redundant hard drives just for Steam rather than wait 10 years before i can get the most out of my account.
flashn00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 02:44 AM   #126
shoudll
 
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Yes, this is a much needed feature!
shoudll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 12:47 PM   #127
Kythlyn
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 12
Posts: 112
I can't believe multiple hard drives still aren't supported on Steam. This should be a high priority update.
Kythlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 02:35 PM   #128
bmate
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reputation: 2
Posts: 83
/signed

I wish this was a feature.
bmate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 11:05 PM   #129
TimWittik
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
I hope this is being worked on. I purchased Duke Nukem Forever (Retail) and Fallout New Vegas (Retail). Both were added to my Steam library automatically even though I was hoping to install them on my Raid 0+1 SSD. (240 MB/s vs. 77MB/s) My Raid 0+1 is only 60GB so cannot move my library to it. Even if I build a new computer my SSD will probably still only be 120 or 240GB. Contacted support and they suggested symbolic links but it seems like it would be easier to incorporate an installer that can specify a hard drive path (the technology has obviously been around a long time)
Size of Steam folder = 144GB.
TimWittik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 11:39 PM   #130
flashn00b
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Reputation: 470
Posts: 5,461
This would be incredibly useful, cuz laptops don't exactly have multi-terabyte hard drives.
flashn00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:18 AM   #131
MR4Y
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Great idea. I plan to have a Gigabit NAS and store all the heavy stuff in there to keep the other LAN pcs/notebooks with free disk space and only the extreme necessary apps installed on them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:54 AM   #132
Metal_Izanagi
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 113
Posts: 1,010
Signed. Ridiculous that this isn't implemented yet.
Metal_Izanagi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 10:52 AM   #133
Fakedawg
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Just going to add my support to this demand.

My steam folder is now 600 gigs plus and I'm out of space and have to resort to manually moving games and setting up junctions, which really should not be required.

I refuse to believe that this is difficult to implement - it is in my opinion poor service from this service provider.

I stopped buying games from Steam outside of the sales, after the 1 Dollar = 1 Euro scandal, which made many games more expensive than store bought physical copies. If they can't implement a rather small feature like this it is yet another reason for me to take my business elsewhere.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2011, 02:17 PM   #134
TimWittik
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
I finally got around to using junctions for the workaround and I can tell you if you have an SSD it's worth it to go to the trouble. My SSD isn't even super fast and it cuts level loads to at least a tenth (compared to a 7200 RPM HD), and framerate is smoother too. Enthusiasts take note: My max transfer is ~300 MB/s in RAID, but you can easily push 1000 MB/s with newer Sandforce RAID arrays.
TimWittik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 09:25 AM   #135
metalspfc
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 14
In my opinion we need this feature built into Steam as soon ASAP.

Did anyone tried contacting Steam via support ticket to have an official word on this ?

Hope its on their plans to add this in the near future.
metalspfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Suggestions / Ideas


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.