Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2009, 01:25 PM   #1
mindfray
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Reputation: 3
Posts: 308
borderlands does not start

so i had borderlands preloaded a few days ago. since its out i double clicked the icon a dos box popped up then nothing. I restarted steam and double clicked the icon again and now it does nothing at all when i try to run it.





2.5 gigs ddr2 ram
geforce 9600gt 1gig video ram
windows xp latest sp up to date
amd 64bit dual core 2.7ghz
mindfray is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:30 PM   #2
KickinDonkey
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I too have this same problem, except a dos box still pops up briefly. It's like something is not happening correctly in the process.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:34 PM   #3
Mysterion
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm having the same problem. In my games list, Boarderlands says it 100% Ready, but when I click on it, a message that says "This game is currently unavailable. Please try again at a different time." Besides the obvious solution to wait, any reason why it's not working?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:36 PM   #4
blackflag486
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Mine validated Borderlands, did the decrypting, went through a Direct X windows thing and seemed good... Just stands... No load into game.. Great release Valve.. You've really out done your selves this time!

AMD 5600+
4GB Ram
AMD 3870
Gigabyte MA 790
Windows 7 64-bit
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:36 PM   #5
mindfray
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Reputation: 3
Posts: 308
found out what the problem was, same problem with red faction. i disabled my zone alarm firewall then enabled windows firewall double clicked the icon and it started to decrypt the files.
mindfray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:36 PM   #6
blackflag486
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindfray View Post
found out what the problem was, same problem with red faction. i disabled my zone alarm firewall then enabled windows firewall double clicked the icon and it started to decrypt the files.
But after that, It still wont work.. Trust me! haha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:40 PM   #7
CriMs0nC0bra
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 11
I love how nothing can ever actually work. It always has to mess up, break, get corrupted, become unavailable, etc.

Gives me faith in buying from steam in the future, you know? Always goes so flawlessly.
CriMs0nC0bra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:48 PM   #8
blackflag486
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Disable windows firewall.. Worked for me finally after restarting my comp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:52 PM   #9
blackflag486
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Disable windows firewall.. Worked for me finally after restarting my comp. Also Gamespy logon isn't working... Great.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 01:54 PM   #10
KickinDonkey
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I'm not going to disable my windows firewall, but there is already an exception for borderlands there, so it should work. It must be something else but what? I just bought two games yesterday off of steam and both of them don't work..........spent $100.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 02:44 PM   #11
Esgar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Reputation: 18
Posts: 1,304
I'm having this problem as well. Where do the files for borderlands download to? I'm trying to give it access, but I can't find the .exe

Scratch that, found it.

Last edited by Esgar: 10-26-2009 at 02:46 PM.
Esgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:30 PM   #12
KickinDonkey
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
So, I disabled my windows firewall and then doube-clicked borderlands and it said preparing to launch Borderlands... this time. After the preparing to launch disappeared, it went right back to not doing a thing once again..........
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 03:47 PM   #13
jarhead4exg
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 2
Posts: 115
same problem

mines doing the same and i dont have windows firewall enabled im runnig on win 7 i get the dos window then after that nothing.... waited all this time for the game and now it wont even work ... by the way u cant blame valve or steam they just upload the files that they give them its not there fault if it doesnt work
jarhead4exg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:51 PM   #14
yhap2003
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Reputation: 0
Posts: 205
What I did was, I didn't touch the firewall.
I defrag and verify the game on steam then I close and reopen steam, and launch the game. And now it's decrypting
yhap2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 05:20 PM   #15
Philosophytutor
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
yhap2003's method worked for me. Actually I did it in the other order. I verified the files then defraged. Either way the game is decrypting as I type.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Discussions > Help and Tips


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2014, All Rights Reserved.